La Paz to Todos Santos - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

February 11, 2022

La Paz to Todos Santos

I finally had fish Tacos my last night in La Paz.  I met up with fellow cyclist Tom who was taking the ferry to La Paz.  However, my fish tacos may have poisoned me!  I had a clue this morning, took a couple of Pepto Bismol and was on my way.  Now, I have never belched so much in my life!  Ha ha!  Took some more Pepto and felt a bit better.  

The ride out of La Paz was a long uphill slog of about 10 miles with ridiculous amounts of traffic.  A bit of a bike lane for awhile, but it wasn’t always in the greatest of shape.  I was thankful, the climb was very gentle.

Finally a roadside restaurant appeared and I took a break while enjoying some Mexican music.  I have not doubt I am not drinking enough water with the state of my stomach so I only ordered a side of rice and a Powerade.

Rode into the touristy town of Todos Santos which is as people described.  Artsy, with lots of cafes.  My kind of place to play tourist!  All the hotels were expensive so I headed to the only hostel in town where I knew I could camp.  Hostel was okay, but it definitely was a party hostel and I'm much too old for than scene.  Ran into Ben a guy I met up in San Ignacio so it was fun chatting with him.  

I took a rest day of course and thought it was my lucky day when the bike shop had a 9 speed chain.  I am trying to get my bike tuned up for Africa.  Since I am writing this way after the fact, I'm not sure what exactly happened, but I paid for a bottom bracket overhaul as well as the front hubs to be checked.  When I got to America, I took my bike in for a spoke issue and they said my bottom bracket was a disaster and needed to be replaced, so I again, paid for maintenance and a new bottom bracket.  Not sure what to make of it as the shop had great reviews and he even followed up with me to make sure things were shifting fine after the chain replacement.  Anyways, a frustrating and disappointing experience.

I did ride  out to a secluded beach by a fancy hotel along dirt/sand roads my last day in Todos Santos.  It might be a hint of what's to come in Africa.  I had to push my bike a bit on the way out because the sand was too deep.  Nothing was really signposted and I almost made a wrong turn getting out of there.  So much for thinking I was paying attention on my way in.

As much as I am tired of cactus, this one was cool looking
Heart 0 Comment 0
Very scenic ride today
Heart 0 Comment 0
For a minute, I thought I was back in Oregon.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Restaurant break and I’m 26
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Some police action. There are a lot of people in that truck
Heart 0 Comment 0
It is, but it isn’t. Either way, I didn’t check in. google Hotel California lawsuit
Heart 1 Comment 0
Treated myself to breakfast and let’s just say the color of the beans isn’t the most appetizing!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Thanks for the reminders!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hotel California lobby. It’s actually not a hotel anymore at all.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not all roads are paved
Heart 0 Comment 0
My new friend. Another guest had rescued the kitten off the streets and is nursing it back to health
Heart 0 Comment 0
Guard dog 😂
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heading out to the beach
Heart 1 Comment 0
The fancy hotel at the very nice beach
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another sculpture from La Paz
Heart 1 Comment 0
Fishing boats
Heart 3 Comment 0
Kids having fun in the waves
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nice beach!
Heart 1 Comment 0
It was like a scene out of a James Bond movie. They drove the boat onto the beach with engines blasting!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 1,714 miles (2,758 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0