Camping with RV friends - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

February 3, 2022

Camping with RV friends

Car ride to La Paz

Rest day - change of plans.  I am going with Dave and Val down to Adolpho Lopez Mateo for a few days.  More rest days and could be some gray whales too.

We ended up meeting back up with Rita and Jim and Rich and Brenda in the town and we all went out and found a boondocking spot.  Had some delicious fresh caught tuna for dinner which was a treat for me.  I had a great time visiting with everyone, but I did miss being on my bike a little bit.

 The guys went out fishing and you can tell they really enjoyed it.  When they came back a pelican had landed on Dave's boat.  Those birds are smart.  I so wish I could upload video here because I have one of Dave shouting and yelling at the pelican and it's the most hilarious thing ever!

Plans were changed multiple times, but in the end, I did get a ride all the way into La Paz.  Stayed at Campestre Maranatha which was a fantastic campsite, especially for a cyclist.  I made sure to go for a swim right away.

I really enjoyed getting to know Val and Dave and spent some time chatting with Rita as well.  Never expected to run into them so many times and I am glad to have met some people I now consider my friends.  Thanks everyone for your kindness!

In all honesty, I think once the reality of going to Africa materialized, I was just done in Mexico.  So much research and planning to do in preparation for Africa that it took away from me enjoying the remainder of Mexico.  It was difficult planning for a new continent when I still had to plan my route and logistics in Cabo.  I'm sure the adventure will all be worth it in the end. 

Gigantic machinery on our drive
Heart 0 Comment 1
Valarie GilmourThe star wars tractor Kim.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Boon docking campsite
Heart 0 Comment 0
Val and I giving out best “Karate Kid” impression
Heart 1 Comment 1
Valarie GilmourWe look like crows! Hahaha!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Tuna steaks
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rich’s catch
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Boon docking campsite #2
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Enjoying another delicious dinner in Rita and Jim’s rv
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 3
Valarie GilmourMiss you Kim!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Valarie GilmourSo good to talk to you last night on our marathon phone call! Miss you guys too!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Valarie GilmourSo good to talk to you last night on our marathon phone call! Miss you guys too!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Val and Dave. Many evenings enjoyed around this “campfire”
Heart 1 Comment 1
Valarie GilmourMiss you lots!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0