Days off in La Paz (out of order) - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

February 9, 2022

Days off in La Paz (out of order)

Rode into La Paz from the campground and got myself a nice hotel for the night.  I might have stayed there a second night, but the room was freezing and I really wanted to work on my blog.  Hotel Blue was nicely decorated and the rooftop pool was amazing, but too cold to swim.  I suspected I'd be spending a few days in La Paz, so after the first night, I downgraded to Hotel Pekin which was perfect and located right on the Malecon.

The malecon was lined with tons of sculptures so I rode to the end just enjoying the (finally) pretty colors of the Sea of Cortez.

I was literally two blocks away from my hotel when I heard what sounded like a gunshot.  It was my inner tube exploding leaving a six inch split in the tube and ruining my tire as well.  And this people, is why I carry a spare tire while on tour.  Also learned that it's not good to overinflate your tires even if only by a couple of pounds of pressure.

Met up with a cyclist Casey for drinks and he convinced me to go to a restaurant that's known for it's flame broiled steaks.  What I did not know was that the platter we ordered, even when split in half, was way more than I ever pay for a steak meal even in America.  I don't mind treating myself, but had I known what the true price was, I would have been fine with tacos!  At any rate, was nice to meet up with him and swap cycling stories.

I switched to a hotel down on the malecon more in my budget and that had great reviews.  As a bonus, a Chinese restaurant was located on the main level.  Finally, something different and it was good.  I was worried the hote would be noisy, but then figured it couldn't be any worse than the barking dogs and cock-a-doodling rooster I frequently have to contend with.

I did tons of Africa research, but also took time to go people watching and enjoy the sunset along the Malecon.  Also got a chance to meet up with Dave and Val one more time for some lunch.  Pizza.  Again, nice to mix things up.

I really enjoyed La Paz and wish I could have gone out to a pristine beach and/or snorkeled with sea lions, but time to go.   When I checked the wind forecast, a decision was made to get out of there sooner than I thought if I wanted a favorable wind direction.  I did!

Ahoy there!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Check out those muscles
Heart 0 Comment 0
This boat has seen better days
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
My hotel is going to have an awesome view from the rooftop pool!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Ooops! Blown inner tube that also wrecked my new tire!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fancy!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Too bad it’s too cold for a swim!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Very expensive dinner!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dragonflies!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wall mural
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The pearl
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’ve downgraded hotels, but this is all I need. Hotel Peking. Excellent shower!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I have a sea view out my side window
Heart 1 Comment 0
Welcome to La Paz. One of my favorites on Baja!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Relaxing!
Heart 0 Comment 0
A gift to commemorate a royal from England being here or something like that
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
magic
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bye La Paz! It's been fun!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 1,759 miles (2,831 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0