Strand to Malmesbury - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 6, 2022

Strand to Malmesbury

Dora Marie and Lucas' house - two nights

Let's just get the weather issue out of the way.  HOT!!! I am working on earlier than normal departures.  Despite being on the road at about 7:30, us slow pokes got caught in the oven!  Beautiful scenery, ie numerous wineries and green mountains upon leaving the city of Strand.  

Met Amanda briefly on the side of the road.  She was originally going to join us for this trip, but she travels with her two dogs which complicates everything and she decided to go on her own.  My sunglasses broke right when we puled off to meet her!  Nothing a little duck tape couldn't fix and they have since been repaired with super glue and holding strong.

Such beautiful vineyards with mountain backdrops
Heart 1 Comment 0
Met up with another cyclist, Amanda, so she could give Penny some homemade pesto
Heart 1 Comment 0

Not sure what happened to my bike overnight.  I adjusted the seat angle yesterday so since it had been a proble before, thought that might be the creaking/clicking noise I was hearing.  It's not though.  Lucky for me, there's a good bike shop in the town of Malmsebury which is where we stayed.  I took it there and they showed me that the new bottom bracket I had installed before I left America, had not one drop of grease in it when it was installed.  Geez, how many times do I need to pay for these fixes on my bike before it gets done correctly?!

And then this happened. What happened to my scenery?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looks a little better up ahead
Heart 1 Comment 0

The temperature was in the high 80's and we were both roasting .  We had planned to camp tonight, but next thing I know Penny has decided she will call her friends and see if they can come rescue us.  Who am I to say no?  Lucas, our ride and host, arrived just in time as the heat was really starting to get to us and the wind had changed direction.  

We each had our own rooms again tonight which is really nice.  After we got showered and cleaned up, I started to feel more human again.  Penny went off to take a nap, but I had a wonderful time visiting.

Spent a second night as well.  I could get use to this.  Bike one day, take a rest day, bike a day, take a rest day.  Ha ha ha.  It's all about the journey!

Thanks Dora Marie and Lucas for having us!

Dora Marie and Lucas, our hosts for two nights
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is what you do to deter break ins in South Africa. Plus a couple big black rottweilers. Double coiled barbed wire on top of walls. Nails to deter them climbing the gate. I can't imagine having to live this way.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Deb SeversonWell, it's hard to imagine we have so much gun violence i the US compared to any other country, but there you have it.......
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Deb SeversonGood point. It's been common to have lots of security all through the African countries I've traveled.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
I am a huge Bryan Adams fan. Usually, I post milepost 69, but not this time. "Got my first real six string, bought it at the ....."
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 1,841 miles (2,963 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0