Betty's Bay to Strand - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 4, 2022

Betty's Bay to Strand

Johan & Erna's house for two nights

An amazing day of stunning scenery and cycling AND my first baboon sighting.  Even though I didn't see any yesterday, today's encounter was worth the wait!  A few climbs awaited us this morning and then an incredible downhill where I hit 42 mph (67kmh).  Zoom! Zoom!  

Penny, going up
Heart 0 Comment 2
Deb SeversonDidn't know bikes could go that fast. Is that safe? Hm......WOW
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Deb SeversonAs long as I don't crash! Ha ha. Going fast downhill is my specialty. In part, because my bike and I are heavy. One of the plus sides is that I go faster than most people on downhills. I'll take it. Such a thrill although the older I get, I notice I am a bit more cautious than in my younger years.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
If I have to climb hills, it helps that it's beautiful!
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was just past the town of Rooi-Els.  We had stopped at a pullout and a gentleman was there who oversees the local baboon troupe.  He said they were coming down the road so we decided to wait.  They weren't in any hurry at all, but while we were waiting, I learned so much about baboon behavior.  Good to hear they never attack humans!  As the first one came down and across the road it was amazing.  A baboon walking right by me!  They all have names and the baboons and guy know each other.  He walked with the baboon by our bags and his car because otherwise he said the baboon would have been tugging on stuff looking for food.  They behaved since he was there!  He said if they ever do that, just slap them.  Ummm, I don't think so!

Baboon getting some sun
Heart 2 Comment 0
Butt shot, not than anyone wants to see a baboon's butt!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Front view is so much better....except that he's RIGHT NEXT TO ME!
Heart 1 Comment 1
Deb SeversonSaw so many there. They seem to be everywhere.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Mom and baby
Heart 1 Comment 0


Remember I said the scenery was just amazing.  Mountains on one side and the ocean on the other.  So pretty.  One of the better rides I have ridden.   It's called Clarence drive and it's a popular ride for cyclists.  Traffic left something to be desired.  The drivers here don't seem to slow down or move over and give me much space even when there's room to do so.  The views overlooking False Bay were fantastic.  They actually have a shark watching place.  I was told when the water is clear, they are so high up, they can see the shadows moving in the water.  I guess the great white sharks had disappeared from the area for awhile, but now they are returning.  

Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

   

Heart 0 Comment 0
Waiting for the baboons to come down the road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Not my typical lunch, but it hit the spot
Heart 0 Comment 2
Deb SeversonThe one thing not so great about SA is the food! I didn't eat much there that I liked.....and they cook with palm oil which infuses everything with a not-so-great taste, I thought. Ick. Don't go to SA for the food! Perhaps if one eats at a Ritz Carleton,...... they might actually use some olive oil!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Deb SeversonI actually didn't eat out much, but this was surprisingly good! Then again, I was a starving cyclist. Ha ha
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
I won't be doing any swimming!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Plenty of pullouts to admire the view and at one, they had some food trucks there.  We took a break and ordered some food.  It was so nice.  Eventually, we were back on our way to Strand where we are staying with friends of Penny's, Erna and Johan, for two nights.  They took good care of us.  Johan had a bucket list trip of cycling Cape Town to Cairo and he accomplished that dream in 2016!  Congratulations.

On our day off, Johan drove us all over so trying to find a paper map of southern Africa.  No luck finding one though.  We were talking about the route and I asked if we were going to this one town known for flamingos.  Penny said no, but Johan pipes up that there were flamingos at a preserve not too far from his house.  Penny opted not to go because of her knee, but Erna, Johan and I went and yes, I saw flamingos although they were far away.  So cool!  Johan is a keen birder so I learned about a number of other birds as well.  It was a nice walk around the pond/lake and I am really happy I got to go.

But let's talk about my favorite thing about staying with them.  Erna's Chocolate Peppermint Fridge Tart.  Oh my gosh, it was so good!!!  Why don't we have these tarts in America?!  It was actually a layered dish of deliciousness!  Thanks Johan and Erna for your kindness.  

Heart 2 Comment 0
Johan handing Penny the fridge tart. Yummy!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Johan and Erna leading the way in search of flamingos
Heart 0 Comment 0
Johan and Erna. So grateful I got to see flamingos.
Heart 1 Comment 0
So. Many. Birds.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I see flamingos!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think the flamingos are part ostrich 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
There's a good use for wine bottles - bird feeders
Heart 0 Comment 0
How much do I love this heart?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mia 😀
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 1,811 miles (2,915 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Donna carrIt's great to meet the locals, you can definitely get a better insight.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Donna carrI have stayed friends with this couple and it's been quite enjoyable (and they've been quite helpful with info too.) Johan biked Cape Town to Cairo a few years ago so his blog has helped me in planning.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago