Malmesbury to Picketburg - Hot, hot, hot! - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 8, 2022

Malmesbury to Picketburg - Hot, hot, hot!

La Liberte B&B

Leaving this morning. We look so happy. Who knew what the day
Heart 2 Comment 2
Deb SeversonWhat kind of bike is that? Surly--hm..... curious. It looks good. I have that same mirror.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Deb SeversonI have the Surly Troll. I hate the color though! I initially had an older model that was purple, but the frame had a defect so they warrantied me out a new one. When they told me the colors were black or white, I went with white. It's more like an ugly mayonnaise color. Gag!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Greeted with a climb right out the gate this morning, but at the top, got a distant view of Cape Town's Table Mountain
Heart 2 Comment 0
Golden fields
Heart 1 Comment 0
(singing: Just me and myyyyyy shadow!
Heart 3 Comment 0
more vineyards
Heart 0 Comment 0
At a highway rest area. The bag and I are demonstrating the strength of the crosswind that came out of nowhere
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back on a town after climbing yet another hill
Heart 0 Comment 0
Penny racing a truck at the top of the hill
Heart 1 Comment 0
Scenic
Heart 1 Comment 0
Our lunch break spot. The farm stand was closed for renovations. Not a single cold drink in sight and this was our only chance for today. I was very, very sad.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The also had dinosaurs. I tried to tell Glory how dangerous this was. He didn't listen.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Oh, this looks like fun
Heart 1 Comment 0
Scenic view
Heart 0 Comment 0
Do I look hot and tired?! Getting some KFC food and cold drinks!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Oh man, what a day.  Hills.  Heat.  More hills.  Hell.  We were both nearly dead upon arrival at La Liberte B&B.  When we looked at accommodation options last night, hardly anything was available so Penny booked this so we'd have something.  She didn't see that it was a base of a mountain!  Uuugh.  We ended up just walking our bikes the rest of the way up all the hills to get there.  Long day on the bike, but we survived.  

Our B&B host was kind enough to bring us a cold coca cola light and fanta along with a bag of ice.  She then invited me to go swimming at the neighbor's house next door.  Just what I needed!

Our view from the guest house porch
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some crazy person jogging up the hill.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 1,884 miles (3,032 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0