San Ignacio to Santa Rosalita - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

January 21, 2022

San Ignacio to Santa Rosalita

Got a ride via truck for 25 miles

Dave and Val had offered me a ride up the first part of the hills.  Yet another huge climb I was worried about.  I was very hesitant to take it, but when I saw the forecast was for a headwind, it became an easier decision.  They dropped me off at the top where I was immediately greeted with a huge downhill.  As soon as that segment ended, the headwind became very apparent and I was grateful I had gotten the ride.  Don't worry, I still had some climbing to do and on one particularly steep one, I was breathing so heavy, I was wondering if any oxygen was actually getting to my brain.

One last shot of the San Ignacio Mission which, btw, was built in 1786
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I believe these are lupins lining the roads which made it extra scenic
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltCorrect!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lupinus
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltNotice how the flowers are only at the edge of the pavement.

That's because the little rain there is runs off the pavement and soaks into the ground. Some is soaked under the pavement where it does not evaporate quickly like the surroundings. The combination of collected runoff and reduced evaporation provide the moisture needed for flowering.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Headed back to the Sea of Cortez
Heart 0 Comment 0
The start of some crazy steep and curvy downhill
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still heading back to the Sea of Cortez
Heart 0 Comment 0
Incredibly fast downhill. One of those times I hope my brakes don't fail me and my steering is steady.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once I got back to the Sea of Cortez, the road took a turn for the worse.  The pavement was very broken up and cracked which made for a slow, bumpy ride.  Managed to pick out a hotel quicker than usual and made a great choice in Hotel del Real.  Took a walk back to the big grocery store and later a short walk to see what I could see.

A working class town
Heart 1 Comment 0
I will never tire of these signs
Heart 0 Comment 0
Trying for a different angle/lighting
Heart 1 Comment 0
A derelict building I discovered in my short waterfront walk
Heart 0 Comment 0
A little history
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mines!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Very black sand/rock beach
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cheery
Heart 0 Comment 0
My cute hotel room
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 21 miles (34 km)
Total: 1,452 miles (2,337 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0