Redelinghuys to Leipoldtville - lightning storms! - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 11, 2022

Redelinghuys to Leipoldtville - lightning storms!

Cape Robin Guest House

We went from scorching heat to massive thunderstorms.  We had a pleasant ride through an area known as Sandveld.  The soil is very sandy and the area is known as a potato growing area.  Apparently, they grew a special bean that gets sent to Queen Elizabeth as well.  We also went by an area -- I think the largest body of freshwater in Southern Africa, but don't quote me on that.  Not enough rain didn't have it looking all that impressive -- until later.  The first part of our riding was pleasant as the hills were gentle and it sure was nice to have cooler temperatures.

We took a break at a little shop before hitting the challenging hill of the day.  Penny knew it was there and wanted to catch a ride over it.  We tried, but no luck.  there wasn't that much traffic.  It wasn't all that long, only 2 km, but it was steep.  We were going to walk  if we couldn't get a ride.  We did in fact walk the whole hill, but it was very slow going because of her bum knee.  I started to have serious concerns if she would be able to continue on this trip.  She keeps telling me it's always been fine to cycle, but I'm starting to have my doubts.  Quite honestly, I think she will use it as an excuse to bail on this trip.

A splash of color (red flowers) to keep things interesting
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some very white sheep (or goats). Did they bleach them??
Heart 0 Comment 0
Those rock formations on the right, house some caves with historic cave paintings. No time for a detour.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Me: what the hell does this sign mean? My friend Dawn: If angry arrowhead snake is trying to attack you, kick it there, and there!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Made use of the outhouse at the little shop. May as well be comfortable and stylin' if you're going to use a rustic outhouse?
Heart 2 Comment 0
As I was browsing the cooler for cold drinks, this "guy" scared the crap out of me when I caught a glimpse of him out of the corner of my eye!
Heart 3 Comment 0

  

That aside, it was probably a bit of a blessing that we went so slow.  We could see dark rain clouds ahead and tons of lightning bolts.  I don't think I've ever seen so many strikes.  It was beautiful, but a little unnerving.  The scenery up the 10% plus grade was nothing short of spectacular.  Oh ya, and that body of water?  So much bigger than I realized as I was looking down at if on our way up the hill.  The other directions, a vast expanse of nothingness, but so beautiful. 

Nguni (a type of cow.) A friend tells me they are indigenous to Africa and easy to farm.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My what big horns you have!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Penny's reaction when I told her to look happy as we finished off the hill. See the big body of water behind her. So much more impressive from up here.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Toto: "I bless the rains down in Africa" C'mon, you know you sang along!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I love the rains even more when the sun makes for a more dramatic photo
Heart 3 Comment 0
Once I've zoomed down the hill, here's one last nice view
Heart 0 Comment 0

 

The storm was ahead of us and the worst seemed to have passed by to our east.  When we finally got to the junction where we were to turn left towards Lambert's Bay, we had some hesitation over the weather.  We decided to go right to the little town of Leipoldtville where she is friends with a lady that runs the B&B.  We were able to get in out of the rain just as the torrential rain hit.  We definitely made the right decision to call it quits for the day!  I only had my cell phone for pictures because the threat of rain was constant, but the landscape will be etched in my brain forever.

We just chilled for awhile and then I took a walk through the very small town of dirt roads to make a trip to the store.  On the way there, all these moth type creatures were ALL over the place.  I had to wave my arm in front of my face to keep them away from me.  There were some eucalyptus trees and the smell, especially after the rain, was very nice.  I grabbed an ice cream at the store and was seriously concerned a bug would land on it!  Not the kind of protein meal I'm looking for.

That's some heavy rain coming down
Heart 0 Comment 0
A break in the weather and I head to the store
Heart 1 Comment 0
Are these giant prickly pear cactus?
Heart 0 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltYup! Burbank spineless.

http://www.lutherburbank.org/about-us/specialty-gardens/spineless-cactus
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Kim JohnsonTo Bill ShaneyfeltThanks! You're a wealth of information Bill!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
And some blue flowers
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltMorning glory. Invasive.

https://invasives.org.za/fact-sheet/common-morning-glory/
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
My room for the night
Heart 4 Comment 0

I spent some time in my room with a rare chance to be able to call my friends back in the states.  The time difference makes things difficult and I am dependent on having wifi to do it.  Nice to connect. 

Anita and her husband cooked a nice dinner, ie a braii, aka a barbecue.  The lamb chops and potatoes were delicious!  Thanks guys!

Anita manning the barbeque
Heart 4 Comment 0

Although we were suppose to go through and camp at Lambert's Bay today, there is actually a loop route from where we are and we could go either way.  I assumed we would backtrack the 1km and go the way we had planned along the ocean and through town.  Penny is adamant that we don't go that way and yells out, "We're not going that way!"  I let it slide for then and just ignored her in the moment.  However, once again, I am not impressed by her need to be in control while at the same time she throws these little temper tantrums.  We have a terrible 20 miles of railroad dirt road to cover tomorrow and Lambert's Bay is the only place for a stop for store/drinks before hitting that section.  So, sometime after dinner, I let her know I am going to go ahead and take the ocean route and we can message each other near the dirt road and see where we both are at and if we are close enough, we can ride the road together and the rest of the way to the campsite.  She decided if I was going the other way, she'd be on the road at 6:00.  Not me.  I am a stronger rider than she is, but not by much.  Will just play it by ear tomorrow morning and see what the timing looks like.  Her way is actually a bit more climbing and a bit less downhill, but either way doesn't look too bad.  

Today's ride: 24 miles (39 km)
Total: 1,948 miles (3,135 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 10
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Deb SeversonGoing alone---this may prove interesting. She seems like kind of what...not that great a person to tour with, especially there where ..... there are all sorts of wild creatures. Just my take. I hate controlling sorts....think it was smart to take off for the day alone and see what happens! Maybe make a habit of it...... and meet at day's end.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Deb SeversonWell, I know you saw how this turns out. Yes, VERY controlling. Had I just gone along with her plan and not asked any questions (which she didn't even want to share the route with me) everything would have been fine. That's so not me! Ha ha.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Deb SeversonCan't remember if I mentioned it in the journal or not, usually I would have sugar coated this experience with her. However, I switched all my plans to come to Africa EARLY to tour with her (and what was suppose to be another lady). It was such an awful experience with her that had lots of repercussions, that I decided to be honest and transparent about the experience I had. It wasn't like she was a person in passing that I met and didn't care for. In the end, it's all worked out for the better except for the direction. The winds have been brutal!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago