Playa Buenaventura to Loreto - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

January 27, 2022

Playa Buenaventura to Loreto

Got my ass kicked today and then some, but have made it to Loreto!  We were told there was a climb out of Playa Buenaventura, but it was not too bad.  Well, the climb/hills went on for a good 20 miles.  Tom left me in the dust pretty quickly, but we had planned to stop at a restaurant.  I caught up with him there and had a delicious breakfast.  (The restaurant is not well marked and is on the right hand side of the road for future cyclists.)

Originally we had planned on stealth camping and splitting the ride into two days.  Then, after hearing the description of the ride, we figured we could pull if off in a day.  Part of my issue was I was not taking enough breaks.  When I finally took a good 20 minutes sitting off the bike, I was a bit rejuvinated for the final push into town.

Tom was super nice and slowed down to ride the last 40 miles with me.  It was hot and I was exhausted and at tone point wondered if I would make it all the way to Loreto.  My RV friends passed me and thought the same thing as we were still quite far away.  Well, surprise, I did make Tom went and got and Air b-n-b and I went to the well reviewed campground.  I ran into several people I had been crossing paths with so that was nice.

Arriving in Loreto
Heart 2 Comment 0

 

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 1,588 miles (2,556 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0