Nuwerus to Garies - I love hills (not really) - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

March 15, 2022

Nuwerus to Garies - I love hills (not really)

Sophia's guesthouse

Last night I was invited to a "braii" aka a barbecue.  It ended up being a two hour production!!  I needed to finish packing and go to bed, but didn't want to be rude and leave.  Many laughs were had, but I was up way past my bedtime.  I left this morning sleep deprived and an hour later than I wanted.

Many hills today and mid day I was struggling up the never ending climb and it was getting hot.  Eventually, I took a nice long break and felt way better afterwards.  I am adjusting to the heat.  It was 85F/30C and is suppose to be hotter tomorrow.

The main highway has these "rest areas" which at least provide a place to sit and more importantly, shade. There seems to always be bird nests underneath the roof leaving the table a bit of a mess
Heart 1 Comment 0
My view at a nice pullout/rest area
Heart 0 Comment 0

Being in the middle of nowhere all the time in Mexico has prepared me for the same scenario here!  I blasted my Corey Hart playlist and cruised along.  I saw a weasel type creature and later a marmot type creature close to the road.  It gave me lip as I cycled by.  Ha ha.  Shut it marmot.  I'm done with that!

I am on the main N-7 highway today, but not much traffic.  A nice gentleman pulled over early on and held up a Fanta orange (at least then I knew he probably wasn't going to rob me.)  He apologized for it not being cold.  Chatted with him a bit while I enjoyed the drink.  Thanks mister!

Oh yay! Not.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just me out here
Heart 1 Comment 0
Almost to the town of Garies
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was super happy to arrive in Garies and immediately stopped at the petrol station aka gas station, and had myself a nice cold Energade drink and a mint ice cream.  Recuperated, I made my way down to Sophia's guest house.  She used to allow camping for cyclists, but not enough business so she built an additional flat instead.

It's such a cool place I decided to take a rest day tomorrow.  It's not your typical modern up to date guest house, but has a lot of interesting pieces and charm.  I still need to determine my route through Namibia and let my legs recover from today's hilly ride!

Off to bed, but this is the first double bed I've had since the airport!  Twin beds are VERY common here.

A full size bed! Woot! Woot!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 2,085 miles (3,355 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0