Loreto to Ciudad Insurgentes - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

February 1, 2022

Loreto to Ciudad Insurgentes

Got a ride over the mountains, still a hard day

(Had most of this entry written, but had to wait and post so it’s a bit more detailed)

I'm finally leaving Loreto!   Ross and Carmen offered to give me a ride when Carol's car started acting up and she was no longer able to because she was worried about getting stranded.  Lucky me!   I had missed some of the main part of Loreto as I had stayed close to the waterfront area.  We also passed by a few housing developments with fancy golf courses.  Although they looked very nice, it doesn't seem like the real Mexico.  The scenery out of town was impressive.  Seat of Cortez views on one side gigantic mountains views on the other.  We stopped at the scenic overlook a ways out of town and the view was stunning!  The water was so calm and serene looking.  Would have been a nice bike ride, but there were still a number of rolling hills. 

 After the viewpoint, Ross mentioned dropping me off anywhere.  It took me a moment to think about it, but thankfully I knew the real climb started after Lingui which we were just reaching.  As we started the long, never ending climb, we were all laughing because had they dropped me off sooner, it would have been at the bottom of the climb and I would have cried!  The purpose of the lift was to get me to the top of that climb!  A lot of it seemed gradual, but definitely some steeper sections mixed in and for good measure a few switchbacks.  Every time we thought we were nearing the top, we'd round a corner and see the road was still going up.  Eventually after some downhills, we decided the worst was over and found a pullout.  

As I was loading up my bike, I saw kilometerpost 66.  So close to my favorite, #69 in honor of Bryan Adams "Summer of 69" song.  I asked Ross, "Do you know who Bryan Adams is?"  Ross, "I went to high school with him.  He is a year younger than me."  Me, "I hate you!"  Ha ha.  I then proceeded to tell him that I was a huge fan of Bryan Adams as well as Corey Hart and why.  We'll save those stories for another time.

I still had plenty of hills to climb and it was a bit warm, not to mention a headwind that is barely noticeable until you are biking directly into it!  I saw some road crew workers sweeping the gutters along the highway.  Literally.  One of the moments I realize how lucky I am to live in America with modern equipment like street sweepers.

I was enjoying being back on my bike immensely even though I was in the middle of nowhere.  The views were amazing until I finally hit the final downhill run, then it was vast nothingness.  Something I am very familiar with a this point.  I was leaned over my bike at one point just taking a two minute break, but soon was on my way again.  However, someone must have gone by and seen me looking tired as they apparently circled back and pulled up alongside me as I was riding asking if I was okay.  I said I was just taking a break and he replied, "You're out in the middle of nowhere."  Oh my gosh, don't I know it.  Ha ha.  I told him it had been a recurring theme in Baja.  

I don't listen to music much on this trip because of the road conditions, but I decided today was a good day to put on some Bryan Adams.  Hmmm, I wonder why?  I had taken a break and leaned my bike by a post barely outside the white line.  There was a dirt road so i was walking and cooling down.  I was watching the traffic coming the direction I was going.  I thankfully did not cross the white line because unbeknownst to me, a car was overtaking a truck coming the other direction.  I was inches away!  The roads are ridiculously narrow here.  I was too tired to react much, bu realized I almost got hit.  I was pretty shaken up the last 12 miles to town.

After a stop at the gas station for cold drinks and a rest, google maps takes me to the wrong end of town of the hotel and tells me "you have arrived."  I arrived at a rickety building with goats outside of it!

About to be on my way again
Heart 4 Comment 0
Beautiful view point overlooking the Sea of Cortez
Heart 3 Comment 0
Carmen and RussThanks for the ride guys!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Me = hot and tired!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Beautiful gardens at the hotel
Heart 1 Comment 0
Now the dogs are attacking from above! Roof top chihuahua 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 miles (68 km)
Total: 1,640 miles (2,639 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0