Karonga to border town in Tanzania - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

August 19, 2022

Karonga to border town in Tanzania

Had a nice ride to the border today.  It's always a bit exciting leaving one country and entering anther.  But.....

Border towns are my specialty.  Not.  Who knew the CDC card wouldn't be accepted as proof of Covid vaccination?!  Since I didn't have a QR code, I had to pay $10 for a Covid test.  At least we know I don't have Covid!  Since I wanted a receipt for my test, so I know the money wasn't going into someone's pocket, they had to create a bill and then I had to take it to eh bank to pay and get a receipt.  Outside like 1/4 mile away!  What a pain in the butt, but I hate corruption and scams so for the principal of it, I made sure things were "official."

After that, the process went quickly.  I now have a multiple entry visa for a year stamped in my passport that is going to be replaced soon.  How does that work?  I also refused to change my remaining kwacha on the black market because they will pocke $17 on an exchange originally worth about $62.  I'd rather try my luck at home or a different exchange place.  Again, I don't mind them pocketing some money, but not highway robbery!

Next, I go to find the hotel I had picked out and let's just say trying to find it was a disaster.  A nice man ended up walking me to a nice hotel that wasn't even listed on Google maps.  But, I have not money and they don't take cards.  I unloaded my bike and rode back to the bank to get cash.  Sweat was pouring off of me while I was trying to sort everything out.  The guard offered me a chair in the shade.  They probably though I was going to die!  I needed water.  I stopped at the first shop and bought a huge bottle at double the price my hotel sells it for.  I don't even care.

The upside to today was that I bought premium tickets to Bryan Adams' show in Montreal in September.  Happy birthday to me (as it's close to my birthday.)  What I have known for awhile is that I am attending a special event in Toronto, Canada on September 24th.  I think some of you know I am a huge Bryan Adams and Corey Hart fan.  Bryan is getting inducted inot the Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame.  Better yet, Corey was asked to sing a couple of Bryan's songs as a way of honoring him.  Anyone who knows me knows there is no way I could miss this event.  When I first found out about it, I had to make a pretty quick decision on whether I would go or not.  I opted to attend and it also somewhat finalized when I would be departing Africa.  Because of my delay in Namibia, I have been in Africa way longer than I expected.  It's nice to have an end date in sight and something really special to look forward to.

Another day. More kids crowding around the Mzungu
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ummm, excuuuuuuse me!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here come the kids for the chase!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Might be my favorite photo of the whole trip!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The shoulder is getting used for other purposes. I didn't think they would appreciate my tire tracks through the grain.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Doctor anyone?
Heart 0 Comment 0
A dead black mamba! Some people were gathered around. Apparently, locals had recently killed it with a machete! Yikes! Reality check of the potential dangers in Africa
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lovely green fields, but don't think I wasn't on extra high alert now for snakes!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Shy kids watching me
Heart 0 Comment 0
Then the boys agreed to a photo. The cup is their lunch meal they get from school
Heart 0 Comment 0
So the girls decided it was okay to be in a photo too
Heart 0 Comment 0
This tree is full of bird nests. See them hanging. I forget the name of this type of bird.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Locals carrying some mats to be sold
Heart 0 Comment 0
No official "welcome" sign so I had to make my own
Heart 0 Comment 0
The pink lace is a nice touch
Heart 0 Comment 0
My great hotel a local lead me to. Up the main road on the left side if heading away from the border.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 26 miles (42 km)
Total: 3,931 miles (6,326 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0