It's game drive day - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2022

It's game drive day

Today I am going on my first ever official game drive in Chobe National Park.  It's three hours and I REALLY hope I see a lion.  In fact, I might have even skipped it as I've been so lucky to have had so many animal sightings already....but no cat sightings.  Fingers crossed, that changes today.

This morning I stopped by my Jobu and Arie's campo they were sitting by the river having their morning coffee.  As I walked up a boat went by and there were some waves.  Then one of the guys says, "Doesn't that tree branch look like a crocodile head?"  We all agree and keep looking at it.  Low and behold, the branch disappears beneath the surface!  It was the crocodile that they had been warned about hanging out.  Thankfully, they weren't too close to the edge of the river, but you never know what's lurking...

I decided to pay the extra to just go on safari with the hotel.  Definitely more convenient and I just wanted to keep things easy.  We started the journey by being told we'd be on a bumpy ride, also known as an "African massage."   We saw elephants close up and a couple of cranky ones trumpeted at us.  That means they aren't happy.

And finally, yes we saw lions.  Barely.  Our driver drove up super close, but I was on the opposite side and there were branches blocking most of my view.  Apparently, they had a fresh kill and there was a cub in the back.  Didn't see it.  She pulled around to where other cars were sitting, but didn't stop more than 15 seconds.   I'm not going to lie, I was disappointed.  Would have been better if she just would have stayed back and let us watch them for a minute from a distance.  Oh well.  I'll still never forget the crispness of the lioness' face.

 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Female kudu
Heart 0 Comment 0
I never thought I'd use "cute" and "baboon " in the same sentence, but the babies were adorable. What was not adorable was seeing two other baboons getting it on! Ha ha
Heart 1 Comment 0
I'm cute!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The babies were all riding on their moms back! Not a good pic, but trust me, it was the cutest thing ever
Heart 0 Comment 0
Adorable!!!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
We were told the baby is 2-3 months old
Heart 2 Comment 0
Reflections
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just chillin' and contemplating life
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 2
Debbie MooreNice lion pictures! Aren't you glad you weren't biking past them?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Debbie MooreMost definitely! If I was biking past them, I might not be here writing blog entries. Then again, there was that time I biked by a mountain lion in Yellowstone!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
And that's a wrap on my short, but incredibly memorable time in Botswana.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0