Kasane to Livingstone - Kim and Glory - It's in My Soul - CycleBlaze

June 19, 2022

Kasane to Livingstone

Home of Victoria Falls

Time to say goodbye to Botswana, but amazing memories were made as well as some new friends.  This morning I was trying to put my gas can on my stove and couldn't get it.  I took it over to the neighbors across the way and he was able to attach it.  A bit later he shouted over, "Did you see our note?  We attached it to your tent with a pink clothespin."  Me, "I do now."  I read it and it was so nice.  This couple (Louise and Jean) has been out biking every morning, but since I've barely been at my tent sight, I've not really had a chance to talk with them.  However, that didn't stop them from leaving an incredibly nice note inviting me to stay with them if/when I pass back through Cape Town because they love what I am doing.  How incredibly thoughtful!

The wildlife was making once last appearance as I was packing up.  Warthogs, bushbuck and a friendly little bird.

Camp visitor
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cute couple
Heart 1 Comment 0
Yep, they were close
Heart 1 Comment 0

As I left through town, I had to brake for Pumbaa crossing the road.  I had looked down as I was going over something bumpy and when I looked up, there he was!  It's not everyone who can say they had to brake for a warthog!  I saw a Cape Buffalo in the distance and was glad it was in the distance and that there was a fence between us.  I saw a couple on the river cruise as well, but too far away to get a decent photo.

Baobob tree. They are humongous!
Heart 1 Comment 2
Donna carrYes they are! I saw my first one last year cycling the vast country of Australia.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kim JohnsonTo Donna carrWhat route did you cycle in Australia? I cycled there in 2001 from Cairns to Brisbane and then from Perth to "the bottom." I would love to go back and cycle the Great Ocean Road and would also like to see Darwin.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Crossing the Zambezi River. It's also huge/wide
Heart 1 Comment 0

I crossed into Zambia today.  As I approached the crossing, some employees gave me detailed info on where the border windows were and warned me about people that would approach trying to help or asking for money.  I parked my bike in front of the security holding an AK-47 type rifle.  I figured it was pretty safe there.  No one approached me at all and I entered the building.  You always have to stamp out of one country and stamp in to the next.  This was the easiest border crossing ever as both offices were actually in the same building!!  That never happens!  As I was waiting to pay for my visa and stamp into Zambia I hear a tour guide explain to a couple what the colors of the flag represented.  (Copied from the internet) "Red represents the struggle for freedom; black, the people of Zambia; orange, the country's mineral wealth; and green, the natural   resources."  A nice little introduction to Zambia.

Welcome to Zambia!
Heart 2 Comment 0

What was not a nice introduction were the reappearance of notable hills!  My leg muscles cramped while riding which rarely happens.  I was actually cycling with someone who had a load of charcoal on the back of his bike.  He had warned me about elephants ahead coming back from the river.  Right about the time I'd be passing through.  I had to stop and take a long break at the top of the hill because of my legs cramping.  He went on ahead.  Darn it.  Safety in numbers!  I decided if an elephant appeared, I was too tired to make a getaway, not that you can outride an elephant anyways.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice variety of colors in the scenery
Heart 0 Comment 0
Lay-By Ahead? I'm hoping this means a rest area. It basically meant a pull out area only.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Enjoying the scenery even if the ride is proving to be a challenge
Heart 1 Comment 0
The beginning of many bike loads I'll see
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dang it. Is that another hill ahead?!
Heart 1 Comment 1
Donna carrTough sometimes!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Long, hot day on the bike, but I made it to Livingstone, home of one of the seven natural wonders of the world, Victoria Falls.  It took a while to recuperate and get hydrated, but I'm excited for the days ahead.

I found this sign to be hilarious as I arrive into town dehydrated and tired
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 3,104 miles (4,995 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0