Returning Stateside - Om Rides To Canada - CycleBlaze

September 20, 2023

Returning Stateside

Napierville QC to St Albans VT


Poutine for dinner last night ha
Heart 0 Comment 0

The motel was pretty fine. I cleaned up the drivetrain last night after getting in and wiped it down / relubed but notice a fair bit of flakes of rust on the chain and some of the rear cogs. I am not entirely sure what lesson I learned… since despite all the rain this trip, I bet others are touring in worse! Feel free to leave your best tips below I am all ears! 

I flicked some of it off and relubed. It’ll hold for another day or two of riding it’ll be fineee.

Staring into the sun before setting off for the day lol
Heart 0 Comment 0

I’m glad to be far from a city again. Back to idyllic country roads. I think either this or more remote gravel roads are my more favored places for touring. I’ll incorporate that in the next trip!

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bridge turnstile??
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just across the border back in Vermont there was this TRAGICALLY closed cookie shop or I would have bought out all their stock
Heart 0 Comment 0

Around the afternoon I got a phone call that my train turned to a bus. I have a love hate relationship with Amtrak where 50% of the time it doesn’t go right but I just love rail travel. This is one of my better experiences though - they said there’s a rack on the bus! Thankful for the lady patiently answering all my bike storage questions. 

After crossing out of Alburgh I had some time to kill before checking into my room stay for the night, so I checked out the Mashquam Shore road to spend some more quality time with my beloved Lake Champlain. Blue has never been prettier 

Cohen park
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Free little library again - I took an early aughts mystery for my bus ride tomorrow. I forgot to bring my kindle on this trip. I’ll make sure to add a book to a NYC little free library. Thank you stranger!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
St Albans bay
Heart 0 Comment 0
Saw a few snakes today on the road - can anyone identify? I’m not that familiar so kept a distance
Heart 0 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltDistance is too far to be sure, but it is likely a rat snake or a racer. Definitely not venomous in any case.

Check for yourself.

https://vtfishandwildlife.com/conserve/conservation-planning/animal-inventory/reptiles-and-amphibians/snakes-of-vermont
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0

After a hearty dinner I checked into my room stay where there are two very loving pups. They will get lots of attention before I go to sleep. Tomorrow we head home 

Thanks for reading! 


Today's ride: 54 miles (87 km)
Total: 694 miles (1,117 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0