Introduction - Om Rides To Canada - CycleBlaze

September 6, 2023

Introduction

## What is this blog about

Hi, my name is Om, and I live in NYC.

the frizzy protagonist
Heart 3 Comment 0

I’ve always enjoyed endurance sports and spending time outside, though I didn’t grow up camping much. That changed a bit the summer after graduating university, I went on a few outdoorsy adventures. The first was a bike ride from Boston to NYC, two arbitrarily picked waypoints (I had no connection to either at the time…), hosted by a few lovely Warmshowers hosts. The second was a backpacking trip in Canyonlands, Utah, where a more experienced friend showed me the ropes of camping. I caught the bug. I was thrilled to see what I could achieve under the power of my own two legs, the places, I could travel, and the people I met. 

Since then, I’ve been focused mostly on my early career (I do computery things) and weekend warrior cycling. I even wear lycra now (cue smirks?). All in all, my life has been great fun, but the urge for another adventure grows stronger. I decided it's time to give it a shot - I'm going to take two weeks of vacation and ride north from my home in Brooklyn. Let's see what happens.

Heart 3 Comment 0


The objectives of the ride are two-fold:

1)  Have fun
2) Relatedly, eat lots of dessert

Thanks for joining me on my adventure.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Rich FrasierLooking forward to following along!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Om KelkarTo Rich FrasierThanks for reading! Just put up the first entry
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Tara StentzSo excited to follow your journey! Let’s go! 🚲 🍰
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Om KelkarTo Tara StentzThanks Tara!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago