Ready or not! - Younger on Two Wheels 2021 - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2021

Ready or not!

One day to go...

I did three training rides this past week (fully loaded). 30 miles, 40, and 50 yesterday (Friday). I think I’m ready for this. The weather has suddenly turned hot, which slows me down a bit, but I just need to take it easy and not push too hard. And hydrate more….lots more!

About three weeks ago after waiting for six weeks I received my e-cargo-bike. This will (for most practical uses) replace my car. What I got was a Tern GSD (Get Stuff Done). Looks like this, and I’ve already put almost 200 miles on it.

Tern GSD (Bosch) — London Bicycle Café
Heart 0 Comment 0

It’s a pedal-assist bike, so you do have to pedal to make it go, but I enjoyed it so much I rode nothing but that e-bike for two weeks. THEN when I got back on my touring bike with the load – wow! The load felt super heavy and slow without the electric motor helping out! I should have been on the touring bike more than I was. It took a couple of days to get used to the slower loaded riding.

BTW if you are in Denver and are considering an e-bike (especially a cargo bike), give MacKenzie Hardt at Hardt Family Cyclery in Aurora a visit. I’ve known him for several years (my son used to work for him) and he now has his own shop at 10255 E 25th Ave. He is super-helpful and knowledgeable about e-bikes (and bikes in general.) If you are in the market, definitely stop by!

I had a last nice dinner out at The Plimoth with my wife – we won’t see each other for a month, which I think is a first. In 36 years of marriage I think the longest we’ve been apart was when she had to go India for work and that was something like 10 days. I’m grateful to her for allowing me to go leave and do this.

So at this point I’m as ready as I’m going to be – I just hope I can get some decent sleep tonight. Tomorrow is Denver to Loveland, CO.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0