Day 1: Denver to Loveland, CO - Younger on Two Wheels 2021 - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2021

Day 1: Denver to Loveland, CO

Day 1 couldn’t have gone much more smoothly! The weather cooperated for the most part. Yesterday was quite hot in Denver (93) but today was cooler and a fair amount of cloud cover kept the temps down a bit.

I said my goodbyes to the trail system I’ve been riding for the last 1.5 years. This picture is on the Sand Creek Trail. I like this spot, because as I head out I can gauge the wind speed and strength from the huge flag at left.

Heart 0 Comment 0

This is on the Platte River. I’ll be following it through much of Nebraska – at least until Kearney.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I can’t remember a wetter spring in Denver – this trail winds through Westminster, and I like it because it has a lot of shade – plus some of the residents feel they should beautify right up to the trail edge.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I’ll take my last look at the Rockies – you get used to them just being there all the time, dominating the skyline. I think this is Longs Peak from near Erie, CO.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Between Longmont and Loveland some storms started to roll through. But from this shot I could have been in Nebraska or Kansas.

Heart 0 Comment 0

This storm got me a bit wet. Also the wind kicked up into a stiff 45-degree wind off my left front. I was on a fairly busy highway and had trouble keeping a straight line – all while cars were passing me far too closely! Not my favorite kind of riding!

Heart 0 Comment 0

The reward at the end of a good day’s ride!

Today’s standout song would have to be “Riders on the Storm” by The Doors. Amazingly, it started just as the first raindrops from that storm started to hit me, causing me to burst out laughing. Couldn’t have timed it better!

Tomorrow is Loveland to Cheyenne, WY – according to the map it’s a long gradual up-hill. Hoping for favorable winds!

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 72 miles (116 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0