Background - Younger on Two Wheels 2021 - CycleBlaze

May 10, 2021

Background

What is this??

Welcome!

This is a project I put together in early spring of 2020. It’s long been a dream of mine to cross the US by bike. Never had the time until I started working in schools. With a two-month break each summer I don’t have enough time to do the whole crossing, but decided I could do it in pieces. The name “youngerontwowheels” describes how I feel when I ride a bike. I’m in my late 50s, but as soon as I start pedaling I feel the years falling away, and feel a bit like a kid again – experiencing that freedom, speed, and excitement that riding a bicycle brings. For whatever reason, you’ll usually see a grin on my face in the first few-hundred yards of any ride!

In 2020 I had a route planned (Pueblo, CO – St. Louis – Lincoln, NE – Milwaukee) and was even able to train for it. Then Covid hit, and blew it all to pieces. Many campgrounds closed, hardly any Warmshowers hosts were willing to take in a stranger (not that I blamed them), the Tour-de-Nebraska that I was planning on riding was cancelled. So the whole ride vaporized.

Fast forward a year. I’m back and readier (more impatient) than ever. I haven’t been able to train as much since the weather has been quite a bit colder and wetter (still seeing forecasts for snow) than 2020, but I’m not letting that stop me. This year’s route is simpler. Denver to Cheyenne, WY – then east to Milwaukee. Along the way I’ll do the Tour-de-Nebraska, which is a loop from Kearney with (hopefully) several-hundred other riders. I’ll also visit my sister in Dubuque, IA. The last stop will be Milwaukee, where I’ll spend July 4th weekend with friends before hopping the Amtrak train back to Denver. Just under half of my nights will be camping, and the rest either motels or Warmshowers hosts.

I’ll start June 6th from Denver to Loveland. The next stop will be Cheyenne, and you’ll just have to keep tuning in to see where it goes from there. I can guarantee a free-flowing stream-of-consciousness from my brain after each days ride, along with photographs of my journey. There will even be daily Spotify playlists, along with what music inspired me that day.

So follow along if you want. I know my musings won’t be everyone’s cup of tea, but I know some friends/family will be wondering where I am and what I’m up to. I hope you’ll enjoy the ride…I know I will!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0