T-5: Wednesday - Insert Witty Title Here - CycleBlaze

May 10, 2023

T-5: Wednesday

Gin tonics and black sesame candy
Heart 0 Comment 0

I strongly advise against having cocktails with PhDs who have had a bad day at work. Academics in general seem to all have iron livers and the ones who have successfully passed the gauntlet of shit "piled" "higher" and "deeper" even more so than your run of the mill variety.  I'd say something about this particular academic's ethnic background but I'm also of Russian and German descent, and I weigh twice as much as her, so I really should be able to keep up.

Last thing I remember was my getting really vehement about my right to sleep on the uncomfortably small sofa (instead of any other piece of furniture). I apparently argued over this for quite a while, including volunteering that I could be recorded demanding my right to be uncomfortable so that when I woke up with a sore back in the morning, I would have to accept that it was my own fault. 

I was originally only on one of these
Heart 1 Comment 0

Needless to say, the hangover meant that the only thing that got done today was an already scheduled dental appointment. I'd say that my not working at all today has also tentatively pushed my departure date back by one day (at the very least, I need to finish the documentary subtitles) but the bike shop has already told me that they don't think the last of the new parts they ordered for me will be in until the 15th so that push back had already happened.

I drink too much coffee to ever (sans bleaching) have white teeth
Heart 0 Comment 0
From the 2012 Tour, the shop of an itinerant dentist at a Temple Fair in Hebei
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 19 km (12 miles)
Total: 63 km (39 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0