Day 30: Torreon to Gallina - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

June 16, 2005

Day 30: Torreon to Gallina

A chilly night - a glorious sunrise - and no tent to hide the rising sun. I stretched a bit, loaded up the bike, and had a little snack. Then I got on my bike and rode down to Torreon where the little store opened just as I pulled in. Chocolate milk and a blueberry muffin. I gave the soft, paper wrapper - with lots of muffin stuck to it - to another hungry dog.

Torreon Wash on the Eastern Edge of Navajo Country
Heart 0 Comment 0

The day heated up quickly as I rode towards Cuba. Halfway there, I passed two Navajo guys walking to town to pick up their G.A. checks. I stopped and offered them some Oreos and ice-cold water. The water stays cold because I keep my water bottles in wet socks - - evaporative cooling. Then I promised them that the next car would pick them up - and before I had gone 100 yards, it did! They smiled and waved as they went by.

Grey Cliffs a la Georgia O'Keeffe
Heart 0 Comment 0

Cuba was threadbare and struggling, but I had a chocolate milkshake where they set the can right next to the glass. Kinda like getting 1 1/2 shakes. Seems like I really go through the chocolate, no? I read for a while in the shade next to the Catholic church. Then I went into the grocery store where all the toiletries were locked behind a cage and required a clerk's assistance. I went by the town park and found a little shade and snoozed for a while.

Sheet Metal Church along Main Street in Cuba
Heart 0 Comment 0

By late afternoon, I felt refreshed and ready to go. I rode on to Regina and Gallina - tough hills, but light traffic. As I climbed, I left the dry plateau and entered a softer environment of ridges, creeks, and trees.

Ridges and Cliffs near Regina
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a wonderful burrito in Gallina I rode on to the crest of the highway and turned off into the forest. Again, I decided to just put out my tarp and sleeping bag. The moon was nearly full. The tall ponderosa pines were black against the night sky.

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 1,544 miles (2,485 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0