Day 31: Gallina to Abiquiu - Western North America - 2005 - CycleBlaze

June 17, 2005

Day 31: Gallina to Abiquiu

Tall trees - - fresh, clean air - - and quiet. The early morning is the best time of the day. I zoomed down the road to Coyote where I had breakfast at the little store. Regular milk today. A delivery truck was outside. The store was packed with boxes in the narrow aisles. Everybody knew everybody - the delivery man - the owners - the clerks - and the customers. It's rare to see that in the world today.

Red Cliffs between Gallina and Abiquiu
Heart 0 Comment 0

I headed on to Abiquiu Lake Recreation Area where I parted with $5 for a shower. I felt it was highway robbery, but I was going to meet my sister and a shower was an absolute must. Some people have to shower every day - - not me. In fact, I have to really think when I had my last shower. Tuba City? Okay, I do a little "touch-up" every now and then with a wet bandana - plus I use baby wipes - but I guess I got my $5 worth. I flew down another long hill to Abiquiu where I had a delightful card waiting for me from my friend, Rebecca. She simply must show her art here in New Mexico.

Church on the Plaza in Old Abiquiu
Heart 0 Comment 0

I sat out in front of Bodie's general store and talked politics with the guy sitting next to me. Vietnam vet. He was sure the Bush fascists would cancel the 2006 elections. I smiled and nodded. My sister pulled up just in time. We loaded my bike in her teensy, tiny car and went down to the Abiquiu Inn to have lunch.

When we got to Santa Fe, we had lots of errands to run. I was overwhelmed by the traffic. At the Whole Foods grocery store there was every variety of food imaginable. A dozen types of mushrooms, an olive bar, and all kinds of seafood in the middle of the desert! A far cry from the little store in Pueblo Pintado, but a world apart as well.

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 1,580 miles (2,543 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0