JFK Park - Winterlude 2021 - CycleBlaze

January 11, 2022

JFK Park

My feet are achy, and so are various other joints and muscles.  They remind me that it’s been a few days since I’ve had a true rest day - so while Rachael cranks out another 47 riding up Oro Valley I decide to loaf.  Ever since we arrived in town I’ve mentioned to Rachael that I was going to bike out to the fishing pond in J.F. Kennedy Park to check out the bird situation.  No better time.

So, no interesting ride to report; just some bird pics.  Well, some bird pics plus one other.  Ms. Grumby asked what the covering was on the warehouse roof in that snow-like scene I snapped last week, so I stopped by to check it out.  It’s canvas, or perhaps some heavy plastic; and once I looked around I noticed many other structures wrapped the same way, something that had escaped my notice before now.  I wonder what this is about - maybe they’re to reflect more sunlight and reduce air conditioning requirements?

So now you know, Ms. Grumby.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Killdeer, in the nearly dry Santa Cruz River.
Heart 2 Comment 0
In Kennedy Park the bird scene looks much as it did last winter: hundreds of doves and grackles on the land and many coots on the pond, with a few others strewn in the mix.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A redhead,
Heart 1 Comment 0
A ring-necked duck. So why this name, rather than a ring-billed duck?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Two redheads.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A female redhead I think, or possibly a ring-necked duck.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of those hundreds of coots, showing off his impressive feet.
Heart 3 Comment 0
A shoveler.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A coot also I assume, though it’s lacking the yellow-green legs and white beak. An immature?
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was really pleased with this photo of a black-chinned hummingbird.
Heart 3 Comment 0
But I was even happier with this one.
Heart 5 Comment 1

Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 1,506 miles (2,424 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bruce LellmanAgain, some great bird shots!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago