Fernie to Eureka - Glacier and other delights - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2017

Fernie to Eureka

Not Working: the musical

We rose somewhat early in an attempt to beat the heat and traffic. The ride to the border was a lot of fun. The scenery and terrain became more varied. Once back in Montana, we started to slow down again due to the temperature, smoke, and general fatigue. Every time I stopped to wait for Sunyoung, deer flies would find me. Those guys are nothing to sneeze at. I had one follow me for what seemed like a couple of miles. At least it was motivation to keep going!

We made it to Eugene, the home of our second and final Warmshowers host, pretty early. There isn't much of a town to explore, so we called Nikki pretty early. She had some errands to run, but she told us to come over anyway and make ourselves at home. We "made our own six pack" at the market so that we wouldn't arrive empty-handed.

Later on, we found out from other bike tourists that there was a semi-secret campground at the Eugene city park. But I'm glad we stayed with Nikki and Jeremy instead. We don't spend much time around small children, so it was a reminder of how relatively isolated our lifestyle is. They are a wonderful family, and I felt fortunate to be able share an evening with them.

Lunch and a cold soda at the duty-free shop
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look at me, I'm a Canadian car this time
Heart 0 Comment 0
My favorite photo of the entire tour
Heart 1 Comment 0
The whole gang: Nikki, Vivian, Jeremy
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 323 miles (520 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0