I Run Over Dogs - While I Am Waiting - CycleBlaze

I Run Over Dogs

Beside the Belmont River.

For two days I watched the gripping activities at the Tuncurry Bowls Club from my holiday apartment window while I dreamed of riding my bicycle.

Obligatory pelican photograph,
Heart 0 Comment 0
with bonus rainbow lorikeets, squabbling, noisy little monsters that they are.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tuncurry.
Heart 1 Comment 0

On the third day Roger dropped me off at the intersection of Loftus Road and the Belmont River Left Bank Road, and if you deduced from that that I rode along the left bank of the Belmont River, you are correct. The Belmont was a civilised little river which meandered happily through cow paddocks. Farmhouses along the road tended their yards so well that at times I felt like I was riding through their front gardens. Tractors growled in the paddocks, sweeping cut grass into windrows preparatory for conversion to hay.

Very relaxed riding,
Heart 0 Comment 0
with cattle to talk to.
Heart 0 Comment 0

All the dogs I passed were suitably restrained, except for one who evidenced a desire to nip at my heels and was entirely too persistent for my liking.


Once I had both hands back on the handlebars I turned the tables and ran him down, after which he decided very sensibly to go home.  Which was good, because I'm not sure who would have come off worse had I actually run over him rather than just bumping him with my front wheel.

In no time at all (well, 12km and about 50 minutes) I met Roger going the other way.  I told him my dog story.

"Oh," he said. "I think I'll just ride another km or so, then I'll turn around and come back with you." I don't think he was keen on having to run over big brown dogs.

Here he comes. Roger, that is, not the dog.
Heart 1 Comment 0

He caught up with me at the big bridge where the Left Bank Road joined the much busier South West Rocks road, crossed the Belmont River for the last time, and entered Gladstone.

The Belmont River flowed into the much bigger Macleay River just downstream from here, at Gladstone. Goodbye, Belmont River. It was nice knowing you.
Heart 1 Comment 0


Cycling done for the day, we jumped in the car and took ourselves off to the Arakoon Campground at Trial Bay. From our tent we had views between caravans out to the bay. The lights of South West Rocks sparkled across the water, at the other end of the perfect crescent beach. Up on the hill behind us were the ruins of Trial Bay Gaol, just waiting to be explored when morning rolled around. Kangaroos lolloped lazily around the campground.

Check in was at the ranger station in the entry foyer of the old gaol. This Skippy was done for the day and heading home.
Heart 0 Comment 0


We went for a walk on the beach and watched the sun set.

The township of South West Rocks is across the bay, bicycle track all the way.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Some people were just heading out to work.
Heart 0 Comment 0
No pelicans today.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Home for the night, Arakoon campground.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The end of the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 15 km (9 miles)
Total: 362 km (225 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0