I Didn't Ride My Bike Today - While I Am Waiting - CycleBlaze

I Didn't Ride My Bike Today

Seal Rocks to Tuncurry

 The wind roared in to Seal rocks overnight, bringing rain and bitter cold, enough to convince me not to bother getting on the bike today. Not that I was tired at all, because I have awesome cycling stamina as was decided yesterday.  Instead of cycling we packed up camp and, before checking out, had our morning coffee in the sheltered sun of  the camp kitchen while watching a sea eagle play in the wind.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0


Away in the distance huge waves crashed into the headlands and the surf trailed clouds of spume in to shore.

Heart 1 Comment 0


We ambled north between the lakes and the sea, dropping in to Bluey's beach to see more big waves and surf, and settled in to a unit in Tuncurry for work. 

Bluey's Beach. The name, like me, predates the cartoon dog.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

 Tuncurry was Forster's poor (aka less developed and quieter) cousin, like Stockton to Newcastle but with a bridge and minus the coal ships and risk of black lung. We went for a walk along the river and watched dolphins playing in the surf beside the breakwater before spending the evening doing boring indoor stuff like life admin, watching TV while sitting on comfy couches, and setting up workstations so we could earn an honest living tomorrow.

Seagulls sheltering from the wind.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0