I Don't Do Mud On The First Date - While I Am Waiting - CycleBlaze

I Don't Do Mud On The First Date

I Rode My New Bike.

I went for a ride on my new bike.

I rode beside the sea to Silver Sands. I hadn't ridden here before.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I rode until the road stopped. The only way forward was along the beach or out to the highway.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Mike AylingNice bike!
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Titanium PenguinThank you! I'm loving the bigger wheels and tyres and the dynamo hub. And the single chain ring at the front. Pretty happy with all of actually, which is good given that it's the most expensive bike I've ever owned😁
Reply to this comment
6 months ago





The beach was rocky and the tide was high. I thought about riding down the beach but my bike was too new for that.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I followed a side road to the Conservation Park.  There was too much mud.  My bike will never be as clean again as it is right now.  Now is not the time for mud.

There will be mud in the future. Mud can be fun. But not today.
Heart 2 Comment 0



Contemplating future possibilities.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Janice BranhamCool handlebar design. How do you like it?
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Titanium PenguinThe trekking bars are great - inexpensive, lots of hand positions and room for gadgets. Two drawbacks are the inability to use bar end mirrors and some grips. I get numb hands (previous wrist injury) and prefer a specific ergonomic grip). I'm hoping to try the Moloko bars, waiting for the next shipment to come into Aus.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago

I rode back up the esplanade, past the turn-off to home, all the way to Port Willunga.

I had to stop. There was another Conservation Park in the way.
Heart 2 Comment 0
My new bike and I spent time together, looking at the sea.
Heart 3 Comment 0


The tide was in. Cormorants roosted on the piles of the old jetty, drying their wings.

Heart 2 Comment 0


My tyres stayed pumped up.  Not that I ever doubted they would, mind you, given my awesome tyre-inflation skills of yesterday.  My bum tolerated the new seat: time will tell if this truly is the beginning of a beautiful bum-seat relationship.

It was a nice ride. 

I like my bike.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 17 km (11 miles)
Total: 524 km (325 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Scott AndersonHooray! I foresee many happy adventures in your future.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago
Janice BranhamLooks like an excellent shakedown ride. Wishing you both many happy miles together.
Reply to this comment
6 months ago