Day 27: Napoleon, OH to Monroeville, IN - Seeking a Bicycle Warrior's Death, Part I: The Northern Tier - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2021

Day 27: Napoleon, OH to Monroeville, IN

American Defiance

Heart 0 Comment 1
Steve HenryBud....so glad to know how to relieve itchy teeth!!! rofl!!! Hey, Judy Hall Henry taught me that phrase!!! Hey Judy!!! I had a client who reached for her eye drops in the middle of the night and mistakenly put super glue in her eyes. So the lesson is, don’t put super glue in your makeup bag...rofl!!! You had such a picturesque day. Stop at a pharmacy and get “Sarna” cream for your itch. It’s the best and has a wonderfully wierd scent that you will grow to love!!! Onofn....that’s Over-n-out for now. Sorry....I know I overuse the exclamation marks.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Another great Ohio morning! It was cool, but not like yesterday, it had that feeling like it could become hot this afternoon.  No breakfast at the Napoleon Inn and Suites, so we had a bite at the adjacent convenience store, then hit the road and pedaled to Defiance in search of second breakfast. “Second breakfast” is a long established cycling tradition but is sometimes rare on a tour. But so far, as we traverse the eastern “civilized” part of the country, there have been many opportunities for second breakfast.

Morning on the Maumee River
Heart 1 Comment 0


We found second breakfast at a diner called “Bud’s” in Defiance, and the pancake special gave me plenty of fuel to move on.  How could I not eat at a place named "Bud's?"  Bud's has actually been in existence since the 1930's. 

The Maumee River at Defiance
Heart 2 Comment 0

Defiance got it’s name from General “Mad” Anthony Wayne who was sent to the fort in 1794 to subdue the Native Americans and keep the British in check. He is credited with saying something like “I defy them to take the fort.”

We rode on to Junction, which really is no more than a store at a junction,  took a chocolate milk break, then pushed to Paulding and rested in the shade of a big tree near the courthouse.  It was noon and there was a restaurant nearby, but we still had miles to go and agreed that we’d rather push on another 10 miles to the next little town which supposedly had a restaurant as well. There is also a symbol for a store there, so even if the restaurant is not open we should be able to get something to eat.

Old Tractor Has the Original Off-Road Tires
Heart 2 Comment 0

Fortunately, we were able to eat in Payne, and I had 2 slices of pizza while Doc had a sub.  I sent home some things at the post office, probably overpaid for mailing cause all I could find to use was a priority mail box that was oversized for my needs. 

Rural Ohio Has Wind Power, None Yet Seen in Indiana
Heart 2 Comment 0


The pace of the tour hasn’t been terribly difficult, but we finish each day feeling like we put in a lot of work. After a few days in a row it begins to wear on you a bit. So a few nights ago I reached into my handlebar bag for the travel sized tube of toothpaste that I keep there, put some on my toothbrush, and started brushing. The toothpaste had a pretty strange taste to it and I had my teeth pretty well covered when I realize that I was brushing them with Benadryl itch cream. Turns out the small tube of Benadryl itch cream and the travel size toothpaste are the identical size. Well, while that wasn’t the worst experience I’ve ever had, it wasn’t the most pleasant either, and the good news is that now my teeth don’t itch. Not that they did before, but now they really don’t.

We arrived in Monroeville and met Warren, the 85-year-old gentleman responsible for the cyclist hostel.  He's quite a talker and we enjoyed visiting with him, but we had lots to do.  I am posting this from the Allen County Regional Library wifi, and they just told me they close in 5 minutes, so I better hurry.

Inside the Hostel
Heart 2 Comment 1
Julia McAnultyBud and Andy,
Please tell the gentleman that manages this hostel that it’s superb!
What more could you want? It speaks to his dedication and experience... what a gem!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

There is rain forecast all day tomorrow, so we have to figure out how to deal with that. The choices are ride in the rain all day and be miserable, ride for only a short day to limit the misery, or just stay in and take a rest day. So we got to figure that out.  All is well here, we just got to decide how to handle tomorrow - but isn't that always the battle we all face?  Good night all...

P.S. in the video below I mistakenly said we were leaving Payne, Indiana - Payne is in Ohio, we hadn’t quite made it to Indiana yet. Hey, if you insist on accurate geography then you should watch the National Geographic Channel - I usually know what state I’m in, but no guarantee is implied. 

Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 1,313 miles (2,113 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 11
Comment on this entry Comment 0