To camp or not to camp? - Volcans et Vallées - CycleBlaze

February 9, 2023

To camp or not to camp?

That is the question!

After deciding on a route and assuming I'll be travelling solo, the next question is:  should I bring camping gear?  I prefer what I think of as "camping light" in Europe.  Unlike most in Canada, French campgrounds seem to always have showers, are usually close to services, and sometimes even have their own restaurants.  So sleeping in a tent and eating out is a viable option so no need to carry cooking gear.

On the one hand, if I camp, accommodation costs would be much lower, especially when considering the per-person cost.  On the other hand, it's extra stuff to carry and time to set up the tent, inflate the sleeping mat, etc. and then pack it all up in the morning.  Oh yeah, and dry the tent if it gets wet by rain or condensation.

Then there's the question of whether or not campgrounds will be open through September and October and, if they are, do they accept tents?  Some are really just camping-car parks at any time, while some others don't accommodate tents except in high season.  So how many nights would I have to camp to make it worthwhile to carry the equipment?

I guess I don't really have to answer that until I pack.

  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Keith AdamsCycleBlaze's very own Leo Woodland might be able to help with that. Email me at ibike2havefun at gmail dot com and I'll try to put you in touch.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Keith AdamsWill do!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith KleinHi Jacquie,
I’ve done most of the routes you have outlined in your tour, and I think you’ve got a cracking great idea. Bring your climbing legs, you will need them, from the first kilometer in Clermont, which may actually be the hardest part! Campings are somewhat sparse in the region, but with careful planning you can do it. I’m not sure if there will be many open in October, but September should be fine. The Aubrac is spectacular for it’s barrenness, but well worth a visit. Again the only way to get there is to climb. It seems as though it was always foggy when I went that way, but that just emphasized the air of mystery that seems to hover about the country. Your planned side trip to Vallon Pont d’Arc will be well timed to avoid the crowds of summer, and the ride is fantastic. Ditto for your rides around Avignon.
Actually
, I’m making myself jealous of your plans. I shall be following along when you go.
Bonne route!
Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonSounds like a great tour, Jacquie! My experience with camping in France in September and October is about ten years old, but most of the campgrounds in the south were closed at the beginning or in mid-September. Might be a good idea to check their websites to see if they give any information.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Keith KleinI realize it will be a lot of up, especially at the beginning, but I should be okay for it after a summer of local riding. Even a "flat" ride around here involves over 600 metres of climbing. And from our new place, the popular Cypress climb starts almost from our door (about 1200 m ascent).
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Suzanne GibsonI can see from websites whether or not they are open, but "open" and open to tents are two different things. A campground operator in Brittany, when I said I'd skipped going to St-Malo because the one campground close enough to bother only accepted tents in July and August, said that many did that so as not to have to fully open and maintain their sanitary blocks.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago