Postponed until 2024 - Volcans et Vallées - CycleBlaze

August 31, 2023

Postponed until 2024

I guess writing this post makes it official.  Back in February I was planning to do this tour this fall, leaving for France in a week or two from now.  However, since we got back from Sicily, I haven't been able to justify spending the money for flights when there were so many more pressing demands on my limited funds.  Some of them even had to do with cycling:  

  • My shoes were so devoid of tread that they were often dangerously slippery when I needed to put a foot down, so new cycling shoes were top of the list.  Unfortunately, the new ones cost quite a bit more than I was planning to spend but they sure feel good!
  • One of my riding buddies confirmed that the bibs I have worn most days on my last 3 tours were now see-through.  Unlike the shoes, I had a second pair, but really need two or preferably three sets for riding three days a week here at home.  Luckily, I managed to get two new pairs on sale.
  • I finally obtained a the new handlebar I've been looking for for a couple of years from BC BikeFit, the same vendor where I got the shoes.
  • I got a new Ortlieb quick-release handlebar bag mount to replace the Klickfix one that suffered damage on the rough roads of Sicily.  There are parts available to fix the Klickfix, after all, the damage is just to the plastic clamps, whose screw receptacles are stripped, but shipping of these $5 parts to Canada (can't buy them here) is around $20.  The new Ortlieb adapter mounts with a cord system so no need to remove and reinstall metal screws into plastic brackets whenever I pack my bike.
  • My Showers Pass rain jacket, which has never yet let me down, is starting to show its age.  I think I got it in 2014.  Fingers crossed that it gives me another year of leak-free service.

I started tracking prices for flights to Montpellier sometime last spring and have been amazed at how they change--the cheapest round-trip fare can go from around CA$1200 to almost CA$2000 seemingly overnight, and then back down again.  Even so, I just can't justify it right now.

Will I be able to next year?  I should, as I've accepted an offer of a part-time job in an outdoor equipment store (Valhalla Pure Outfitters is opening a new location in North Vancouver).  I've never worked in retail and the shop has yet to open but it should be okay.

I also have a contract to create routes for a supported ride from Vancouver to northern Ontario for a company headquartered in BC wanting to celebrate the opening of a new facility in Ontario next summer.  More info in a future post after the event.

The income from both these endeavours  will be devoted to future cycle tours!  And perhaps a few items for a new family member...

Our older son Graeme holding our first grandchild. Ryder (her parents chose the name) was born on July 29.
Heart 6 Comment 1
Rachael AndersonCongratulations!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

So, trip postponed until next year.  With a whole year to plan, I'm hoping at least one of my cycling buddies will be able to join me.  At present, none of them own a suitable bike, one on which they can carry their stuff, but several have expressed interest.  We shall see.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Rich FrasierCongratulations on the grandbaby!! It's understandable that you would decide to postpone. France will still be here in 2024 - I'll look forward to your journal firing back up then.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Kathleen ClassenOh Jacquie! Congratulations! A grandchild. Such a beautiful baby and such an amazing name. You and Ryder are going to have such an amazing year it will fly by. France will wait for you and be all the sweeter for it.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Patrick O'HaraSee through shorts? I understand. On our tour this summer, Sue mentioned that my bibs where getting quite transparent. Congratulations to you and Al for your grandchild. Too bad you have to postpone your trip until next year. Was looking forward to some CB reading this fall!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Rich FrasierMe too! Awaiting that first paycheque to put in my "fun fund".
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Patrick O'HaraAl would never notice my bibs as he rarely rides behind me. I'm the little engine puffing along well behind!

As for CB reading, Scott is always good for that. And the Classens seem to do a lot of fall trips... I'm sure there are others too.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Kathleen ClassenThanks, Kathleen. She'll be a year old next fall but also has 3 other local grandparents.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago