The idea - Volcans et Vallées - CycleBlaze

February 8, 2023

The idea

I was thinking about a fall tour in Québec, starting and finishing in Montréal.  Québec, because I've never really been and they have those Routes Vertes.  Fall, to see the maple forests changing colour (I think there are maple forests there?) and Montréal, because our younger son, the jazz musician, moved there last summer.  I started looking at routes and wasn't really inspired, then I looked at accommodation in Québec City (yikes!), and then I started thinking about France.  I put down Cycling in Québec: the Official Guide to Explore the Route Verte (why is it singular?) and went upstairs to fetch Cycling in France, sadly not updated since 2009 and out of print.

Now I was inspired!  So many potential tours!  I looked at Alsace-Lorraine-Burgundy, but perhaps the fall isn't the best time.  I've only been to Burgundy, in September of 1992, my first European cycle tour, and we ran away from the rain to Languedoc-Roussillon.  Perhaps that will be a spring trip someday.  The Alps?  From the book:  "The Alps, particularly the Vercors massif, also tend to attract heavy rain from September to November."  Add that to the future spring list.

I finally settled on the volcanos of the Massif Central, which "unlike the rest of France, receives most of its precipitation in summer..."  This would segue nicely into the gorges that various other CycleBlazers rode through last fall, making me so envious.

I presented the idea to Al and he said he wasn't interested, preferring to stay home and enjoy our new place, but that I was welcome to go on my own.  So I put it out to my cycling buddies, but I don't expect any takers.  It looks like it will be a solo trip.

The route I've planned is in the screenshot below.  I'm thinking of flying to and from Lyon, taking the train from there to the start at Clermont-Ferrand and then back from Avignon at the end.  I've yet to book my flights but am thinking around 30 days should be sufficient.

Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 5
Scott AndersonLooks like a fantastic way to spend the fall. I recognize most of the route, but what is that small red loop east of Mende?

I was surprised to see your plan to end in Avignon, because I didn’t know there was even an airport there. You might consider ending in Montpellier instead though. I suspect you’d save enough on the flight to make it worthwhile. You could get there by train from Avignon in about an hour, or just bike there if you added a couple days to the tour, maybe stopping in Nimes or Sommieres. And Montpellier is a great place, worth a few days at the end imho.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Scott AndersonMy plan was to fly in and out of Lyon. Getting there will mean at least one and probably two stops each way, aka chances for a bag to go awol. I hadn’t thought of coming home from a different airport. Somehow I think that might double the cost of the flight but I’ll check.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Scott AndersonI've had another look and it seems flying in and out of Montpellier is similar to Lyon in terms of price, with the big plus that I could take Le Cévenol (famous scenic train route) from Nîmes to Clermont-Ferrand. Then either train or ride back from the Avignon area.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Jacquie GaudetSeems worth considering to me, but then I’m biased. We really liked Montpellier and didn’t really care for the brief look we got of Lyon for no obvious reason. But then we didn’t care all that much for Avignon the one time we were there either. But that’s just us. So judgmental!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetI can’t remember if I’ve been to Montpellier but I’ve been to Lyon twice. The second time was in 1992; Al and I had some time to kill between trains as we escaped the rain in Burgundy and headed south. The first time in Lyon was 1981, when I was doing the backpack-and-railpass thing after graduating from university. A guy tried to convince me I was going the wrong way to the youth hostel and wanted to drive me there. I turned and walked the way he’d indicated and he crawled along beside me in his car. I met a woman and asked her for directions. I’d been going the correct way from the beginning. I explain about the guy in the car—he was still nearby— and she went over and chewed him out. Not the greatest memory of a city but that sort of thing can happen anywhere.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago