Day 83: Fishery Falls to Cairns - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

May 4, 2021

Day 83: Fishery Falls to Cairns

Start: 9:05am
Distance: 44kms
Ride time: 2:18hrs
Average: 19km/hr
Max: 43km/hr 
Finish: 12:55pm

It rained overnight again and was mostly sunny in the morning. I took my time having breakfast etc so my tent would dry.

A rainbow is a great way to start the day!
Heart 10 Comment 1
Kerrie McCarthyWow, I’ve not seen a rainbow so low
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Walshs Pyramid. 922 metres.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Walshs Pyramid is in the Wooroonooran National Park. There is an annual foot race to the top from nearby Gordonvale. 

Crossing Mulgrave River.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I had a strong tailwind today. 

The traffic kept on increasing as I got closer to Cairns. The road surface improved and included a bike lane.

I arrived in town with ease and went straight to a phone repair shop called Sunshine Comunications. They were nice people.

They replaced my phone's charging port. The problem was probably salt water. 

I'm happy it's fixed now. A big relief. 

I then went for a look along the Esplanade.

A public pool.
Heart 5 Comment 0
The tide was low exposing the mudflats.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Very happy to be in Cairns!
Heart 11 Comment 0

And even happier to see Serena! She flew in direct from Canberra. 

I met her at the Novotel hotel.

We will do touristy things for a week before I get on the bike again. 

I'll still put up pics on my blog even though I'm not riding.

The hotel pool.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Today's ride: 44 km (27 miles)
Total: 3,902 km (2,423 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Annie O'SheaWell done on reaching Cairns, great achievement so far. Say hi to Serena, I'm sure you were both pleased to see each other. Cheers
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThank you Mum.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago