Day 65: O'Connell River to Airlie Beach - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

April 20, 2021

Day 65: O'Connell River to Airlie Beach

Start: 8:15am
Distance: 54kms
Ride time: 3:27hrs
Average: 16km/hr
Max: 52km/hr 
Finish: 12:30pm

Crossing the O'Connell River.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some dark clouds appeared to the east.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Dead Man Creek.
Heart 2 Comment 0

After a little while I arrived in Proserpine. They have a small museum that I visited.

This rusty bike has a dyno like my bike.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Rita McCarthyThink I’d rather be riding your bike.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyYou're most welcome to have a go at riding my bike in a few months when I get to Geelong!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
A 2.6 metre wooden bowl made on a purpose-built lathe.
Heart 7 Comment 0
They used truck parts to make the lathe.
Heart 3 Comment 0
At Proserpine I turned off the highway and headed to Airlie Beach. 
Heart 3 Comment 0

I had a headwind but I didn't mind as I only had 23kms to go.

Can you see Nemo and Dory?
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
I enjoyed a banana thickshake.
Heart 2 Comment 0

And then checked in to the Seabreeze Tourist Park. The nice receptionist booked me on a snorkel day trip for tomorrow. 🐢🐠

$30. The pool is on the other side of the palm trees.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The camp kitchen has everything I need.
Heart 4 Comment 0
There were lots of these curlews in the campground.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Rita McCarthyAlways amazes me how they sit with their knees bent forward rather than back. Are they double jointed?
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthySorry, I don't know.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

The bush stone-curlew can grow to 60cm tall. They look similar to no other bird in Australia. They have a very loud wail which can be unpleasant to hear.

Today's ride: 54 km (34 miles)
Total: 3,116 km (1,935 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0