Day 31: Kingscliff, NSW to Gold Coast, QLD. - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

March 17, 2021

Day 31: Kingscliff, NSW to Gold Coast, QLD.

Start: 8am
Distance: 47kms
Ride time: 2:53hrs
Average: 16km/hr
Max: 45km/hr 
Finish: 12pm

I started the day with another fantastic breakfast.
Heart 2 Comment 0

The weather was misty rain and a nice mild temperature. 

After a little while I crossed easily into the state of Queensland. And I gained one hour due to a time zone change.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Veronica JoinerCongrats on making it through a state border. : )
Reply to this comment
3 years ago

The riding was challenging at times because there was no bike path or shoulder so I had to take up a traffic lane. 

The traffic were kind to me and didn't run me over. 

Then I found a bike path on the beach that was a pleasure to ride along. 

It wasn't a continuous path and sometimes I had to return to road cycling for short distances. 

Burleigh Beach.
Heart 2 Comment 0
I'm staying in the Gold Coast near all those big buildings.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Miami Beach.
Heart 3 Comment 0

I saw some very impressive sand sculptures at the Gold Coast. 

Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
I checked in to Broadwater Tourist Park. $56! Powered site. Hopefully I never have to pay more than this.
Heart 2 Comment 1

I did my usual washing chores and then spent the afternoon reading while it rained and rained. 

I ventured out in the rain to eat some delicious Thai chicken green curry!
Heart 6 Comment 0

It reminded me that my Carolina reaper chilli is fruiting at home. I'll get Serena to dry them so I can eat them when I get home. 

Today's ride: 47 km (29 miles)
Total: 1,554 km (965 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Deleted AccountMate those sand sculptures are amazing and that Thai Curry looks delicious. Expensive sites over that way
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Could it be possible you might actually gain weight on this journey!!!???
You're eating bigger and far better then me!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyMost of the food I'm eating is healthy so I should be loosing weight.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Vince McCarthyTo Deleted AccountThe curry was great.

This has to be the most expensive camping site in Australia.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago