Day 142: Acacia to Adelaide River - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2021

Day 142: Acacia to Adelaide River

Start: 8:25am
Distance: 57kms
Ride time: 3:55hrs
Average: 15km/hr
Max: 27km/hr 
Finish: 2pm
Temp: 18-34C

I slept well as I was far from the road and there was hardly any traffic.

I was feeling tired from yesterday's ride. I must have lost some match fitness while lounging about in Darwin. 

I had a headwind all day. 

The small Manton River.
Heart 6 Comment 1

I approached it slowly to see if I could spot the lizards from last time. They were nowhere about.

I have to backtrack another 200kms to Katherine before I am able to head west on a new road. My journal may be a bit plain until Katherine. 

A train passing by with a big burn off in the background.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The road was pretty quiet. There were road trains and police cars and very few caravans. Excellent cycling conditions except for the headwind. 

The headwind was constantly sapping my energy. I had many breaks off the bike.

A shady spot in a ditch can be very comfortable.
Heart 9 Comment 0
After a tough day I made it to Adelaide River.
Heart 8 Comment 0

It was a little hot. I bought a cold drink and a sandwich from the servo and sat at a shaded picnic table under some big gum trees.

After lunch I returned to the showgrounds. The caretaker was less than friendly. My desire to have a long shower outweighed his unfriendliness so I made camp. 

Tonight I cost me $20. Last time it was $15.

I set up camp and washed. The shower was great. If there was a seat in the shower I would have stayed for 20 minutes.

I went to the Adelaide River Inn and quenched my thirst with some alcohol free beer.

Meet Jock, a 5 metre, 720kg salty. Caught at Borroloola boat ramp.
Heart 6 Comment 0

He is now stuffed and lives at the front of the bar.

Meet Charlie the buffalo. He was standing on the bar.
Heart 9 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 km (35 miles)
Total: 6,753 km (4,194 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Rita McCarthyGlad they let you escape Darwin. Hope the friendly locals return.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyI've been getting lots of waves on the road so all is good.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago