Day 141: Darwin to Acacia - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2021

Day 141: Darwin to Acacia

Start: 9:50am
Distance: 69kms
Ride time: 4:13hrs
Average: 16km/hr
Max: 29km/hr 
Finish: 5:30pm
Temp: 22-33C

I was happy to check out of the hotel. I want to be cycling and camping.

I went to the supermarket and bought a couple final things.

The rules state that I'm meant to be wearing a mask while riding my bike. I think this is ridiculous. 

My mask would be saturated in perspiration and fall apart in ten minutes. Plus because of my condition it makes it difficult to breathe.

I spoke to my Dr and he agreed I don't have COVID-19. He prescribed some antibiotics. 

He faxed the prescription to the Darwin chemist so I could get the drugs.

I didn't need to worry about traffic much, the roads were quiet.
Heart 5 Comment 0

I found a bike path which ended up taking me to Coolalinga, about 30kms. 

Part of the path was an old railway line.
Heart 6 Comment 0
This is the fruit from the pretty yellow flowering kapok tree.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A mango farm on the outskirts of town.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I wish it were mango season now. Mangos are the fruit of gods.

I had a headwind and didn't mind. It felt good to be hot and sweaty again.

I arrived at Noonamah and went to check in at the caravan park. To be brief the lady refused to let me stay, saying I should not have left Darwin.

I showed her screenshots from the Covid NT government website which said I was allowed to travel. It didn't change her decision. 

I don't like confrontation so I let her be.

I went to the servo and filled up on water.

I was enjoying the ride in the mild afternoon so I got more kms done. 

Then I found a spot near Acacia, next to a gravel pit and away from the hwy to pitch the tent.

Free!
Heart 7 Comment 0

It feels good to do a free camp away from people. I felt like everyone in Darwin was on edge. I'm not being critical of them, they have reason to be a little concerned. I'm just happy I'm out on the road again.

Today's ride: 69 km (43 miles)
Total: 6,696 km (4,158 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0