Day 131: Adelaide River to Batchelor - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2021

Day 131: Adelaide River to Batchelor

Start: 9:30am
Distance: 37kms
Ride time: 2hrs
Average: 18km/hr
Max: 36km/hr 
Finish: 12:10pm
Temp: 16-32C

I was surprised to hear a few rain drops last night as I went to sleep. This morning I discovered it was bats pooing on my tent. The rascals.

I had a short day planned and it was nice to have a relaxed morning. 

I headed north on the busy Stuart Hwy.

I saw 2 helicopters mustering cattle nearby. I've seen many of these helicopters over the past month yet this was the first time I saw them mustering.

They were amazing to watch. Flying very low, just above the tree tops and zigzagging everywhere. 

It was hard to get a good pic because they were moving so fast.
Heart 5 Comment 0

After 23kms I turned left towards Batchelor. 

The road to Batchelor.
Heart 3 Comment 0
I was happy to see a big solar farm. I don't know why I haven't seen more them. There's definitely plenty of sunshine.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I checked in to the Batchelor Holiday Park.

$15.
Heart 5 Comment 1
Rita McCarthyThat looks very nifty.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

This is the first purpose built shelter for tents that I've seen on my trip.

Before I put my tent up I used a hose to clean off last night's guano. 

In the town park is a model of the Karlstejn Castle in Prague.

I think I've been to the real one. It didn't have blue tops.
Heart 6 Comment 0

I went to the local museum.

This area belongs to the Kungarakan People.

I want to see a termite mound this big.
Heart 5 Comment 0

The caravan park feeds birds in the morning and evening.

Image not found :(
Orange-footed scrub fowl.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Orange-footed scrub fowl.

Galah.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Galah.

Corella.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Corella

Female blue-faced honeyeater.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Blue-faced honeyeater

Male blue-faced honeyeater.
Heart 4 Comment 0
A male red-winged parrot.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Red-winged parrot

It was a pleasurable way to end a day.

Today's ride: 37 km (23 miles)
Total: 6,447 km (4,004 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0