Day 132: Batchelor to Noonamah - A happy ride around Australia (second attempt) - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2021

Day 132: Batchelor to Noonamah

Start: 7:05am
Distance: 65kms
Ride time: 3:24hrs
Average: 19km/hr
Max: 36km/hr 
Finish: 11:35am
Temp: 19-33C

It was a very smoky day.
Heart 7 Comment 0
I thought this cycad's bright green leaves looked amazing against the burnt ground.
Heart 6 Comment 0
I took a short detour off the highway to visit Manton Dam.
Heart 6 Comment 0

It was very peaceful. There was no one else here. There is a no camping sign. It would be a nice place to stealth camp.

A pretty little water lilly.
Heart 5 Comment 0

Then back on to the highway. There wasn't too much traffic this morning. Sometimes there was a small shoulder, sometimes none.

The terrain was undulating and I had a small headwind.

I wonder if this is a fair price for hay?
Heart 4 Comment 2
Veronica JoinerIt looks like straw hay so we think its an Ok price.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Vince McCarthyThanks for sharing your knowledge 👍🏻
Reply to this comment
2 years ago

Perhaps my dairy farming family will let us know.

While I was considering the hay, a train went by.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I waved to the driver and he waved back to me and blew his horn. It gives me a buzz everytime a train driver does that. Their horns are so loud.

I stopped in a tiny town called Acacia and got a cold drink from the servo. It felt special to have a cold drink during my ride before I reach my destination. 

I used to do it all the time on the east coast. There's not as many shops in these parts.

A little while later I arrived at the Noonamah Tourist Park. There was no one at reception except for a self check-in computer. 

I managed to navigate through it. It allocated me a site which was already occupied. 

I just took a vacant site in the shade.
Heart 8 Comment 0

It's a little close to other campers. The shady spots were in high demand.

I was a little concerned that I may have taken someone else's site. About an hour later the receptionist turned up and said just camp wherever I like.

I had a wash and then went to the tavern next door and had a couple non alcoholic beers.

Friendly horse with smoke clouds in the background.
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 6,512 km (4,044 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0