Day 27 - Back in the Saddle - Viking Quest ~ 2023 - CycleBlaze

Day 27 - Back in the Saddle

Viking 3 - Lake Superior Bound

Viking 3 - Lake Superior Bound - 1st Stop Rush City MN Adventure.- About the Route

Interactive Map:  Viking 3 Route

Heart 1 Comment 0

66 miles from Minneapolis to Rush City 90-percent trails!  Amazing!  

Heart 1 Comment 0

Nita and Brian road me out of town and into town where we said our goodbyes and gave each other hugs!!!  (I'll miss them so much.)

A series of trails - all paved - connected like puzzle pieces taking me out of St. Paul and around numerous lakes like White Bear and Forest Lakes.  Thru the backsides of towns, past grain elevators and through silent meadows and forests.  Temps were in the 70s with cloud cover - perfect!

Heart 3 Comment 0
This looked like new trail - along 61....
Heart 2 Comment 0
If you see a water tower a city or town is near.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Stopped in Forest Lakes for some Kodiak Coffee and a breakfast sandwich - mile 35.  Rush City lay only 30 miles further.

The 30-percent rain forecast eventually showed up, but not until I secured my overnight at the VFW in Rush City 

The "commander" of the Post ok'ed me to pitch my tent under the pavilion and then bought me a pizza, beer and another drink.   Dave thank you!  Thanks also to Tamora for calling ahead and breaking the ice for me; you are so nice.  

(AW, an Air Force woman just brought me out two pork BBQ sandwiches as I was writing this -  wow thank you!)

The bar doesn't close until 1 am, and I got an invite to return so....

(There is a wedding reception on here too....enjoying the music at my tent.)

Hilton in Rush City
Heart 3 Comment 0

Let it rain....I'm dry and we'll feed!!!  Thank you everyone for making me feel welcome along my travels today!!!

Cool historic stop right! Had to capture it.
Heart 3 Comment 4
Ralph SpanglerThat is super cool.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltHoods of old vehicles propped open so old guys like me can go look inside and say, "Yup, worked on a few of these back in the day!"
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Ralph SpanglerIt stood out like a sore thumb along the trail.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Bill ShaneyfeltBill, it looked like a set from a movie.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

Today's ride: 66 miles (106 km)
Total: 610 miles (982 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Patience LindThank you for visiting VFW Post #6692. We appreciate you.

Patience
VFW Post #6692 Adjutant
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Tamora StumThanks you VFW Post #6692 for hosting my Hubby!!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Keith A. SpanglerTo Patience LindTo all who I met, the VFW Hilton was so nice! Thank you for feeding me too. Tell everyone I said hi and thank you!!!
Reply to this comment
7 months ago