Yikes! Downpours and Flooding and Cold! - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2022

Yikes! Downpours and Flooding and Cold!

The best laid plans ....

Well, it looks like I won't be biking throug Yellowstone next week.
Still hanging out in Baker City waiting for the system to clear.
I've bike toured since 1987 and this is the coldest, wettest spring. Ever.
But you can almost count on extreme weather on a long tour.

Yellowstone National Park, North Entrance Road Damage
Looks Like More Than a Patch Repair, No?
Heart 1 Comment 0

At noon, I heard that all the Yellowstone entrances had been closed.
By evening, it was clear that there was major flooding damage.
Roads washed out, electricity out, communities cut off.
I began thinking about significant detour options.

Meanwhile, back in Baker City it was another quiet day.
Don took off to visit his sister on the coast,
so quietly that I didn't get a chance to say goodbye.
Mary and I whiled away the morning -
a lazy breakfast, grocery shopping, baking a rhubarb coffee cake.

The Baker County Courthouse
Yes, There Is Some Blue Sky!
Heart 4 Comment 0


Mary went to work at the wine shop and I tootled around town.
There was fresh snow on the Elkhorn Montains
when it occasionally cleared out enough to see them.
Never really bad weather in town - just all around.

Fresh Snow on the Elkhorns
Heart 3 Comment 0


Rode back to the house and made a big pot of yam and black bean soup.
Nothing like hearty soup on a cold day in the middle of June.
Soup was ready when Mary got back - with rhubarb coffee cake for dessert.

The Churchill School Art Center
Heart 3 Comment 0
Lamp Made from an Old Electrolux Vacuum
Heart 4 Comment 0


Then we headed off to explore the Churchill School Art Center.
Brian and Corrine Vegter bought the long-closed historic school
four years ago and have worked tirelessly bringing it back to life.
Combining art studios, a bike hostel, an Airbnb, a performance venue,
and their own home - Churchill School is again a hub of activity.

The Green Room at the Churchill School
Heart 3 Comment 0

Mary and I got a personal tour. Tom, one of the local artists, showed up.

(Full disclosure - Mary used her rhubarb cake to bribe folks.)
Then Mary and I did a little impromptu performance on the stage - 
playing on the grand piano donated by a generous community member.
In fact, Churchill School  has come back to life due to such donations - 
of money, of supplies, of labor, and of community togetherness.

Brian and Corinne
Heart 3 Comment 0

Time for bed for sure.

Today's ride: 2 miles (3 km)
Total: 418 miles (673 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Keith Adams"...it looks like I won't be biking through Yellowstone next week."

The news this morning was running a story that the western and southern areas of the Park *may* be reopened within a few days, so don't make any rash decisions just yet. But DO monitor closely the NPS Yellowstone website and other news sources for updates; they seem to be coming fairly thick and fast right now.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John EganKeith -
I was pretty sure, right off, that things would be closed a long, long time. Especially when roads and bridges are washed out. The South Loop iss supposed to reopen, but I'm not sure whether campgrounds will reopen if water & sewer are impacted.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Bradley KremensekJohn,

John,

I finally got signed up to follow your adventures. Ron K. has been sending me a link to your website, but I could not comment. So now I am “official.”
I love your commentary and photographs. It was hot here in Sheridan today, but I was not to bothered by it because I have COVID19 and am quarantined.
Be safe.

Brad Kremensek
Reply to this comment
1 year ago