Summer Solstice - Twenty-Two Tour - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2022

Summer Solstice

Waking up to 35F on the longest day of the year.
Whadda summer! But hey - - I'm out there, right?

The danger of two nights in a motel is getting strung out.
But, trust me, I'm getting my act together.
One of these days I'm gonna get all my ducks in a row - 
then market it online for 3 easy payments of $49.95.

Woo-Hoo! A Gorgeous Day - the Lost River Range
Heart 3 Comment 0

Brilliant sunshine and blue skies are inviting me to the road.
75+ miles today with nothing in between.
I stock up on water an apple juice - including a frozen bottle.
I always carry enough food to feed an army - so no worry there.

Even though I wait until 7:45a to leave, it's still darn chilly.
Plus, there's a sneaky light head/sidewind which adds to the chill.
No matter, I have ski liners and a light balaclava -
And an even lighter heart.

Deep Grass, Tiny Wildflowers, Blue Sky, and a Geology Lesson
Heart 4 Comment 0
The Long and Not-So-Winding Road
Heart 4 Comment 0

There 's a little traffic on the main highway
but once I turn onto Hwy 33 it is empty for the rest of the day.
Hallelujah! I find myself singing, "I'm So Glad".
And I can sing it as loud as I want to.

Howe, Idaho No Longer Has a Cafe or Store
Heart 3 Comment 0

An easy 23 miles out, I come to Howe.
Years back there were two cafe/stores and a small campground.
Two huge fires in 2012 and 2015 took out both.
They will never come back. Although there's a community center,
Howe no longer has a public meeting place.

After an hour break waiting for the wind to shift, (It didn't.)
I'm back on the road again.
Finally! A gorgeous day with empty roads!!

It's Hay Harvesting Season
Heart 3 Comment 0
The Idaho National Laboratoy Is the Size of a New England State
Heart 0 Comment 0
To the Left - Mountains
To the Right - Desert and Twin Buttes
Heart 1 Comment 0



For two hours I had views of the Lemhi Range and Diamond Peak.
And I could have changed my pants in the middle of the road
without a hint of concern for decorum - zero traffic.
Called Rev. Sheila, but couldn't get a good signal.
Probably related to the fact that I was in the middle of nowhere.

The Lemhi Range Kept Me Company
Heart 3 Comment 0
A Ranch with Fields of Irrigated Clover
Heart 4 Comment 0

Full disclosure - by about 60 miles I was getting a wee bit tired.
Plus, there were roller hills into Dubois and rough pavement.

Firecracker Penstemon - - not Indian Paintbrush
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltProbably firecracker penstemon.
https://swbiodiversity.org/seinet/taxa/index.php?taxon=3206

Indian paintbrush looks different.
https://swbiodiversity.org/seinet/taxa/index.php?taxon=3023
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John EganTo Bill ShaneyfeltI didn't think it was Indian Paintbrush - because of the florets.
But two people in town said it was.
It's definitely Firecracker Penstemon. Thanks!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Dirt Road to Nowhere
Heart 1 Comment 0

I wasn't prepared for what I saw in the little town of Dubois.
Everything in the little downtown was boarded up.
I have been studying rural America for 40 years -
and I've never seen it so bad.

Downtown Dubois Completely Boarded Up
Heart 1 Comment 0



And Dubois is on I-15 for chrissake!
There is one business - a huge c-store / gas station / truck stop.
No little cafe with a "liar's table" for retired ranchers to chew the fat.
No grocery store where prices might be a little more affordable.

So, I eat a microwave burger at the truck stop and update the journal.
And head to the town park to set up my tent.
After a long, hard, and wonderful day riding.

Then the sprinklers came on.



Today's ride: 77 miles (124 km)
Total: 768 miles (1,236 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Kelly IniguezWe have found surprising little pockets of affordable food this trip. I'm sure the locals appreciate it, but I do wonder how the shop owners manage to sell low, when sure their prices are increasing also?

Specifically - the grocery and restaurant in tiny Saguache, CO were notably inexpensive. A can of V-8 was $1.39 and a generous spinach salad w/craisins, nuts, feta cheese was $6.99.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago