D15: Hải Phòng to Kẻ Sặt - Tetchy Days in Vietnam - CycleBlaze

February 18, 2018

D15: Hải Phòng to Kẻ Sặt

Heart 0 Comment 0

With all the everything else I've mentioned that's (to put it rather mildly) horribly sucked this trip, I never got around to mentioning that I broke out in allergic hives from an unknown something. Based on the last time I broke out in hives, I suspect the soap powder I borrowed when I did my laundry in China. Now that I'm finally in a city where it would seem there are English speaking doctors to show my impressive patches of please try not to claw my skin open itchy red blotches to, they've very nearly completely gone away all by themselves. (Other than no prior food allergies, that's another reason for suspecting the soap powder rather than something in Vietnamese cooking.) 

I actually went to the hospital nearest my hostel last night. They basically told me "yes, that allergic rash you have on your thighs and stomach, the back of your knee and the insides of your elbows, it looks just like an allergic rash". Then they tried to order me a cab to take me to the specific hospital they thought has English speaking doctors. I'm not Chris Pountney level crazy to think that I should never ever take a motorized vehicle when I'm on tour but I also didn't see any real point in taking a cab at night when I could bike over in the morning. The rash was still a little itchy when I went to sleep last night and I'm very nearly completely out of Benadryl so I thought I'd go this morning... but this morning, other than a few faint pink splotches and the sensation of non smooth skin in places that ought to be smooth, it's all better.

Smartly dressed Vietnamese people wandering about the streets
Heart 0 Comment 0
A very big game of Chinese Chess
Heart 0 Comment 0
I liked this mosaic
Heart 1 Comment 0
Does one ever really need a reason to mount a life sized Buddha on the roof of your car and drive it through the city?
Heart 0 Comment 0
The traffic is making me a bit nervous but it's got a flow to it and as long as I stick with the flow, I'm okay
Heart 1 Comment 0
Because when I think "awesome place to sit on a small stool and sell balloons" I also think THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION. Doesn't everyone?
Heart 1 Comment 0

I'm 102 kilometers from Hanoi which means that if the sun set later than 6pm or if I got on the road earlier than 9am there would theoretically be no problem in doing this in one day. Of course, I'd have to take the straightest route along the fastest roads with the least scenery and the most truck exhaust. And I'd get to Hanoi tired out and cranky with a sore bum. But I totally could do it. Could. That is to say not would nor will.

I'm loving this whole minimalist packing thing. Especially now that I've already lost just about everything that isn't absolutely essential, it makes getting ready to go in the morning a much more pleasant task than it normally is.

It's truly amazing the things people carry on the back of bikes
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mural
Heart 1 Comment 0
Apparently long closed party bus
Heart 1 Comment 0
A hearse unlike any you would see in the west
Heart 1 Comment 0
I don't skip every temple (just most of them)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Being able to recognize Guanyin but not read any of the signs in the temple or recognize most of the figures makes going kind of pointless
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wonder what the little tiger figurines signify
Heart 0 Comment 0
Very similar to a Chinese temple but also very different too.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The breakfast included with my room was a big bowl of ramen like noodles, a banana, a cup of coffee, and a mini baguette with butter. Based on what I spent in the cafes and street corners wandering around the streets last night, the breakfast alone is a reasonably large percentage of the cost of my room.

Me being me, I'm incapable of traveling the shortest distance between two points. Furthermore, since I'm still navigating entirely with Google Maps, I have a certain freedom of motion that I don't tend to have on my more planned out trips. This is both a blessing and a curse. I like being able to know in advance about the potentially interesting detours I may come across throughout the day. Of course, my total lack of Vietnamese beyond "cảm ơn bạn" (thank you) makes anything I find a complete mystery.

I liked the gate at this temple. I notice it has the same two door guards as in Hai Phong.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The baby Buddha pointing both up at the sky and down to the earth seems to be a common feature in Vietnam as well
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still getting some karst
Heart 0 Comment 0
A very busy graveyard
Heart 0 Comment 0
A leftover gun emplacement encroaching on the street
Heart 1 Comment 0

Not wanting to constantly be pulling my phone from the handlebar bag, I've adopted a strategy of biking until I get to something that looks like a big turn and then making a decision when I get there. It means that I'm not sticking to the route I kind of sort roughly sketched out in advance but it also means that I'm not burning through my battery by constantly turning the screen on or running the GPS.

As a result, I've gotten to go down a number of larger paved farm roads, I've taken a small ferry, I've stopped to look at a scant handful of the many many temples, and just generally had a good time of it. Eventually, I found myself in Hải Dương having, much to my great surprise, only gone about 10km farther than if I'd taken the direct route. 

This ferry is powered with a tug boat
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
China, please take note that this closed Petrol station on a farm road in the middle of nowhere has a sit down toilet, a clean floor, and toilet paper. If Vietnam can do it, you can too!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The fashion in houses in this country is very colorful
Heart 0 Comment 0
If I was reading the Chinese script donation stones correctly, the oldest standing building in this temple is from the 19th century but it's been here since the 17th century
Heart 1 Comment 0
I can't make up my mind whether or not the pomelos were tied to the tree because this isn't actually a pomelo tree, or if they were tied to the tree to keep the heavy fruit from breaking branches
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don't recognize a single one of them
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's the baby Buddha again! Two baby Buddhas!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This guy looks an awful lot like Monk Xuanzang from Journey to the West
Heart 0 Comment 0
I notice that many of the statues seem to be painted wood
Heart 0 Comment 0

I circled through the city a number of times trying to make up my mind if my general goal of 50+ km per day really counted on days when the terrain was this flat and the sunset still so far away. Ate a light late lunch while reading more of The Kings Blood then ate a second late lunch at a fast food chain when I suddenly found myself desperately needing to go to the bathroom now. Not finding anything especially fascinating in the city, I decided to keep heading in the general direction of Hanoi even if it meant riding on a dual carriageway for a while.

I should have given up earlier and picked one of the many motels by the side of the road but I pressed onwards and in pressing onward, I got very close to full dark before I found lodging. The first hotel was closed. The second hotel was expensive. The third was just right. 

I get the feeling these people are probably Christian
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've noticed that almost all of the temples seem to have ponds in front of them. Often with dragon stairs ...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looks like a temple fair is going on.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I would have not thought it possible but the Vietnamese like karaoke even more than the Chinese.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A large Christian church and a pagoda off in the distance. Couldn't figure out how to get to either of them from my small farm road.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Pedestrian/Bicycle/Motorcycle passage alongside the train tracks
Heart 1 Comment 0
At first I thought these were clever locals...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Then, minutes later they jumped off the tracks so this could pass
Heart 0 Comment 0
The nasty dual carriageway I ended up spending the evening on
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 78 km (48 miles)
Total: 689 km (428 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0