Tangambalanga and other towns with impossibly long names - Three Good Blokes tackle the Best of Victoria - CycleBlaze

October 11, 2022

Tangambalanga and other towns with impossibly long names

Beechworth to Mitta Mitta

A great way to finish the day with a cleansing ale.
Heart 4 Comment 0

I slept like a baby on my double mattress ensemble courtesy of Pete lending me his inflatable mat as my roll up mattress doesn’t fit in my one man tent. I think the guys are taking pity on me, what with me losing stuff left right and centre. I lost my gloves twice within 10 minutes yesterday.
It’s  a big day today so we attempt to head off early but fail to, as the morning coffee and fire is just a bit too welcoming. I check 3 times that my tent is safely stowed in the trailer, and head off down the same rail trail to Yackendandah that we’d done 2 days prior.

Out of Yack after a decent coffee we headed through pasture country and rolling hills and had another coffee at Kiewa general store before passing through the thriving metropolis of Tangambalanga and on to our first biggish climb through Lockharts Gap. Salad sandwiches by the road are a given as is doing the daily wordle.

Tour de France shot number 1
Heart 3 Comment 0
Chris dancing on the pedals
Heart 3 Comment 0
Wordle wars
Heart 4 Comment 0

I managed to miss the climb as I was in the car but with that safely negotiated it was glorious valley riding alongside the Mitta Mitta river. There were still plenty of ups and downs and in the end when we rolled into our Air BNB we had done 1500 metres of climbing. This is a beautiful part of Victoria and I’ve never seen it look better.

Rolling towards the hills.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Tour de France shot number 2.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Another 10ks knocked off.
Heart 4 Comment 0
There’s snow on them thar hills.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I’m on cooking duties tonight and with a proper kitchen I’ve gone for freshly made ricotta and parmesan  gnocchi with a garden salad washed down with a Penfold’s bin 389.

The Damask tablecloth is scrunched up somewhere in the back of the trailer so we settle for placemats.
Heart 6 Comment 0
The sign reads “trespassers will be accidentally shot”
Heart 3 Comment 0
That’s me!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0

Today's ride: 109 km (68 miles)
Total: 329 km (204 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Olivia SaxonHave you tried Quordle Dennis?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago