Life at Stacey’s, week two - Breaking out of the box - CycleBlaze

February 13, 2018

Life at Stacey’s, week two

Monday

The pace of life has slowed down considerably as we start our second week at Stacey’s.  There’s not much at the condo requiring our attention, and we’ve gotten well enough oriented to life at Stacey’s so that we have our routine down and have thankfully quit losing things every time we turn around.

Not too much to report today, so I’ll keep this brief.  The main events of the day: a 2 PM PIFF showing, which left us time to get out on our bikes this morning.  We went our own ways, because I wanted to take my time over coffee while the morning warmed up, and Rachael wanted to maximize her miles.  I took a pretty goofy, themeless loop: down to Sellwood, up through River View Cemetary, north along the ridge, then down to the river and south to Sellwood again, and finally back to Stacey’s by way of Reed College.

We drove to the film so that we’d have the car available afterwards to take a final load from the condo.  We’re done cleaning everything out now, and are just watching the show.  Next Thursday the photographers show up to take pictures for the flyers and listing, and we can look forward to an anxious period waiting for a buyer to walk in the door.

And one other thing of note for the day: I spent a half hour on the phone this morning, changing the return flight for our upcoming trip to Greece.  We’ve decided to lengthen the tour by two weeks so we can explore southern Albania.  Sarandë is just a short ferry hop from Corfu, and from there we’ll work our way up through Albania to Ohrid, across the border in Macedonia.  It should be a fascinating ending to what already looks to be a wonderful tour.

Today’s ride: 25 miles

The new Sellwood Bridge is starting to get it’s attractive weathering steel look.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Here’s a nice viewpoint of Saint Helens I haven’t noticed before, from the top of Corbett.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A birdhouse estate, Sellwood. There are about a dozen unique houses here arrayed above an attractive garden.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Spring seems to have arrived overnight. Yesterday we saw the first daffodil, and today they’re busting out all over.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tuesday

It’s cold this morning!  When I go out to the car, I find a heavy layer of frost on the windows.  I also find that we apparently gave our ice scraper to Goodwill by mistake.  So that’s irritating.

This morning begins with a mercy mission to check in on Pinkie, our friends’ sensitive cat.  Her minders have abandoned her for a few days, and left her in our care in the interim.  They’ve only been gone for a few hours, but I’m heading over to reassure Pinkie that she hasn’t been completely abandoned.

I have a brief scare when I arrive and am unable to open the door.  The key we’ve been given doesn’t seem to work.  I look around the house to see if it’s for a different entrance, then consider sending another desperate email: ‘wrong key; help!’  (These are the same friends whose house we couldn’t find last week) but first give the front door another try.  Mercifully, the key works this time.  It’s just a training issue.

No cat.  I peruse the house, checking out all her favorite haunts we’d been advised of, without success.  I sit down in the living room and read the news, making sounds from time to time to let Pinkie know that the cavalry has arrived, but to no avail.  Wonderful - we’re failing as cat sitters, and are poised to lose our good friends as a result.

A half hour later Pinkie comes down the stairs, quickly dashes past, and disappears again.  Then, nothing for another half hour.  Finally I look around again and see that she’s in the back yard now, waiting by the door.  When I let her in she lingers, let’s me pet her and briefly pick her up.  Excellent - we’ll be fine now.

Heart 2 Comment 2
Bruce LellmanWhat a cute cat!
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Scott AndersonYes, very photogenic.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago

I can’t stay much longer though, because we have a film starting at 11.  I drive back to Stacey’s, swap the Jetta for Rodriguez, and quickly head downtown.  I’ve almost cut it too close, arriving just five minutes before the film starts.  Rachael is there waiting, wondering if I’m going to make it or not.

Incredible - another beautiful mid-winter day. I’ve never seen a winter like this here.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Two hours later we emerge from the theater, elated and energized by the strangely uplifting film about a serial killer we’ve just viewed.  We walk back to the condo, change our clothes, and set off on our bikes for Kelley Point.  It’s a brilliant afternoon for a ride, and almost warm by the time we reach the river.  I take off my coat and long pants and we continue riding, out to the bridge and then south along the I-205 bike path.  A

By the time we start working our way back west through the neighborhoods toward Stacey’s it’s nearing sundown.  The sun is low, blinding us as we bike through unfamiliar streets; and it’s getting cold.  We’re near enough to home that I don’t  other to stop to layer up again, which is foolish - by the time we arrive I’m borderline hypothermic.  After five minutes in a hot shower, I’m still a bit cold.

How have I not noticed this splendid American elm outside the museum before? It’s one of the city’s heritage trees, planted in 1870.
Heart 1 Comment 0
What an awesome day for a ride!
Heart 2 Comment 0
It’s a bit unusual to get such a good reflection of the mountain - you need to be here at the right time of day, with clear skies and windless conditions.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Then, back to Pinkie’s, where we’ll be staying for the next two nights.  She’s in hiding again when we return, but before long she makes her appearance.  Rachael gives her a few treats, and soon they’re best buds.  Everybody’s happy.

@

Everybody’s happy
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today’s ride: 42 miles

Wednesday thru Friday

I’ve been on a bloggers holiday for the past few days, taking advantage of our slower pace of life to take a break.  Not much to report - we’ve completed our tour of duty as cat-sitters and are back in Stacey’s attic again; and PIFF continues with its mix of memorable films that surprise and inspire us and flops we’d just as soon have sat out.  And no biking, for me at least - I’ve taken Rodriguez in for his overdue annual physical exam, and I haven’t gotten around to reassembling the Friday yet.  Hopefully I’ll fit a ride in this afternoon in a gap between showings.

And not much to share from the camera either - just a final shot of our new favorite cat, and a very Portland work bike we passed on the way back from last night’s film.

On guard, defending today’s mail delivery
Heart 2 Comment 0
A work bike outside Powell’s Books. Sorry this is so blurry, but all I had with me was the iPad.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I do manage to fit a ride in between shows, but it doesn’t amount to much.  Absentmindedly, I forget to take my helmet and gloves when I walk over to 7 Corners to pick up Rodriguez, and am not inclined to go back to pick them up.  I feel insecure biking without the helmet though, and it’s cold and windy enough that my exposed hands hurt before long, so after poking around the south end a bit I stop in at the Muddy Rudder to warm up over a pizza and a Stiff Upper Lip IPA (courtesy of Ex Novo Brewing) before heading for Stacey’s and a warm shower.

Just as I arrive home, I receive a call from Rachael.  She’s still trapped at our condo, where she’s been providing access to the light fixture installers.  She has her Surley with her and had plans to bike home after the work is done, but everything  has gone poorly.  The work is still not done, and she’s out of time.  I drive over to pick her up and then we drive over to Laurelhurst Theater for the evening’s show.  In the morning, I’ll head back to the condo to let the vendor in to complete the work.

There’s always at least one film like this evening’s in every festival - interesting, but super slow and way too long for its message.  We’re both a bit stunned when it’s finally over, and drive back to Stacey’s vowing to look again over the upcoming films we’ve chosen for any others that might be like tonight’s.

They’ve taken good care of Rodriguez, and are sorry to see him go. They don’t see many of his breed here.
Heart 0 Comment 0
At Reed College, another early sign of spring. I’m not sure what these are - peonies?
Heart 0 Comment 2
Andrea BrownThese are hellebores, also known as Lenten Rose. They come in white, pink, purple, red, and even green.
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
Scott AndersonTo Andrea BrownThanks!
Reply to this comment
6 years ago
On Bybee, Rodriguez sits in the center of an eddy, surrounded by sockeye salmon.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Inside the Muddy Rudder. In Portland, even a fishing-themed pub finds room to honor the bike.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0