Day 62 - Meanwhile Back at Mama’s - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 30, 2024

Day 62 - Meanwhile Back at Mama’s

What an odd day. Probably expected from my week. I woke up so flat. I was up a few times in the night high on adrenaline cause I was so excited about getting to my cousins house. But I woke up and was wildly unmotivated. Took forever to simply get out of my sleeping bag. But finally I did and got packed up. I heard so much squawking and was surprised to see some turkeys hanging out by my tent. Went to the bathroom then hit the road. Called my family for the first 10-15 miles or so. I was so happy. It was just what I’ve been missing. Felt like I was there. A slow Saturday. Ben and Bella were there. Got a taste of home. Less than two weeks until I’ll be there. Climbed a bit then it leveled out. Don’t remember much. Mom called around mile 25-30. I stopped around 35. Took a long time. Feel like I have a hard time living in the moment. But it’s hard when so much is coming. I don’t think it’s a bad thing right now. Kinda fell apart after that. I got pretty tired, legs felt flat, I was once again unmotivated. Kinda strange feeling. I drank so much water. Had a minor headache. Didn’t feel quite right. It’s been a long week so I’m hoping 2 days off will help. Called dad for a little bit the wind really started to pick up. Could barely hear anything but somehow didn’t feel it as bad is it sounded. I think the trees help a lot to block it. It was brutal in OK, TX, NM, AZ, and CA when it was just the desert and nothing to block it. Still felt the 20-35 mph winds but much less than I would’ve. Still not sure how I got through all of that. It sucked. Even for the few miles I had directly into it. And I had the ocean to distract myself. Last 10 felt a little more normal. Pushed a little harder through the hills. Cool views. Then got to the campsite and set up. No cell service. Didn’t call mom before so hopefully she isn’t losing her mind. Just sat on my phone for awhile going through pictures. Wrote this and heading off to bed. No idea what’s gonna happen tomorrow with Easter. Gonna go to church and we’ll see after that. But I get to talk to people again!! The last time was last Sunday. I only have to pitch my tent once more before I get a little break. Can’t wait.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 84 miles (135 km)
Total: 4,545 miles (7,314 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0