Day 63 - Keep Your Head Up - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 31, 2024

Day 63 - Keep Your Head Up

I’m happy. I woke up this morning and was so excited. I kept having to remind myself that tomorrow I’d be with people. But for some reason my body/mind kept telling me today was the day. 36 miles to church was fine. A little windy which always is the worst. Stopped at mile 20 or so to text some people and then made my way to church. A little rolling but nothing awful. They had brunch at church but I missed it so they gave me the leftovers. I then made my way into the service and really enjoyed it. Felt like the pastor really knew what he was talking about compared to a few others. Really good. Had a lot more scones afterwards and talked to Dave. I’ll never forget him telling me that I’m stubborn. I know. Got going after awhile. Called my family and got to say hi to everyone at their Easter party. Felt really sad I wasn’t with people. Skipped the sea lions and the punchbowl. Made it to the campground. It was closed. I called my parents and told them I was going to go another 60+ miles to my cousins house. In my mind this was my plan all along. But I never thought I’d do it. I called Uncle Roger and he so happily got excited. I told them I’d be there around 9 PM. So I got going. I was finally out of that 10-30 mph headwinds and had it at my side. Worked up the coastals pretty easily. Averaged 16-18 no problem. That’s what happens when I don’t have wind and I’m motivated 😂. Got to the top and there was another car that seemed to have spun out right before I got there. I think they are fine but really sad. I saw 3 or 4 cars in ditches today. Not sure if they’re high or what but just pray they’re ok. Descended. 20 mph easy. Kept that for about 15 miles. Called mom for awhile and it took my mind off the ride. Saw mount hood. It looks cool. I passed roads that I’ve been on already. That was a comfort. Really started to fall apart. I hit the wind again and went from 20 to 14 almost instantly. I was working so hard. I didn’t think I’d be able to make it. I had a gu with 10 miles left and that seemed to help a bit. I was exhausted. Felt like I was about to fall asleep. 6 miles left. 5. 4. 3. I called mom. So close. Heart rate was so high. I finally saw them. They were out waiting for me. I was so happy. I had so much jello then took a shower. Had so many burgers. So good. Talked for awhile. Had some yogurt. I haven’t been this happy in awhile. Going to bed in a real bed. Taking two days off. So glad I’m here. I’m happy. I’ve never bonked that hard. 7 more days of biking. I can’t wait. I’m happy. Oh and Happy Easter. Uncle Roger said he hoped this was an unforgettable one. And it was. So happy I’m with family 

Heart 1 Comment 1
Tony SeisserToo crazy. My daughter and her boyfriend are in Coos Bay. They live in Portland and are visiting his parents on the coast. I heard it's really beautiful there. Enjoy Oregon.
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 124 miles (200 km)
Total: 4,669 miles (7,514 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0