Day 61 - Song in the Night - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 29, 2024

Day 61 - Song in the Night

This song says just about everything I need. I’ve been on a roll recently with Shane and Shane. So good. They’re now my pump up music for hills/getting out of bed/getting to my campsite/and basically all the time. “No more reaching, no more wanting, no more weeping, no more waiting”. I can’t wait for the day. This journal is for me as much as it is for everyone else. Probably just gonna say things so I remember them. But today was an easy day. I feel like I’m finally feeling fit. Hills/wind were chill. Getting going was a big question mark. I prayed God would keep me warm. Last night was the coldest in awhile. I barely shivered. There have been other nights when it was 45-50° and I would wake up and have to bundle up. Last night everything was soaked so I didn’t have much to bundle up with. I got going and things were warm. Not dry but warm. Felt so good. Every other day is a struggle to get my clothes on but it was easy cause they were already warm. I wasn’t sure if I’d even be able to move today. But I was so ready for the day. And excited. Packed up so fast. Went down to the beach for the bathroom so I wouldn’t get stopped by the hosts and have to pay. Climbed out of there and warmed up so fast. 4 miles in I had about everything off except my quarter zip. Or QZ if you’re cool. Really chill. Kinda bored lol. Funny saying that as there are stunning views on my left. But I’ve seen it all. Still cool tho. Inland for awhile. Stopped at 26 for a gu. Then at 48 for such a long break. Finished off my bars. So good. And had the Reese’s PB. That sucked. Made me sick. We’ll see if I have to eat it. I was trying to get in the Easter mindset but wasn’t really sure what it meant. Prayed quite a bit for everything going on. Saw a car flipped over. A few cops/ambulances/fire trucks passed right before. I was probably 10-20 minutes away when it happened. They probably died. I spent awhile thanking God for keeping me safe. I’ve had some very, VERY close calls. Mostly not my fault. I have no power. The only thing I can do is grip the handlebars as tight as I can. Crazy to think the only fall was the best case scenario. And I felt like I needed to fall to realize how to be safe. And Dad was there with me. Everything is so clearly perfectly designed. Hard to notice in my everyday life. Or maybe I don’t like to notice or have the time to notice. God has protected me in so many ways everyday. I have lists of ways He has. It’s undeniable. For everyone else, this is not a spiritual journey. I did not expect anything to change. Just a good opportunity. So I don’t want you to think I travelled all this way to “find myself”. I’m just speaking what I see/feel/experience. I got bored again so I went on my phone for a little while. Then called SJ for a long time. Helped so much. It wasn’t getting hard just mentally long. I was ready to be there. Got here at 4:30. I wasn’t expecting to get here until 6 with getting started at 9. Crashed pretty hard but forced myself to stay up. Called mom and dad for awhile as they drive home through the night. Then called William and got to see everyone and Ben and Bella. So fun. Can’t wait till I’m back with people. Never thought I’d be saying that. Haha. Wrote this, texted some people and going to bed soon. Pictures to come tomorrow maybe. I think I’m slightly going insane not talking to people but still not lonely. Haven’t really been feeling lonely for so long. That’s God. Feeling at peace. That’s God. I really don’t want to forget this. 2 more full days on my own then I’ll be with my cousins. Can’t wait. A few people have offered rides recently. It’s getting harder and harder to say no but only a little bit more is what I keep telling myself 😂

Heart 0 Comment 2
Julie MartindaleJude, this is Mrs. Martindale (Julie :) I have loved following you on your journey digitally. Wayne and I have prayed so often for you, for safety on the roads and while sleeping at night, and for your heart and all that God is clearly doing in your life through this experience. We have felt so proud of your courage and perseverance and growing faith. I have also loved your pics of Oregon, since that if where I grew up. If you draw a line from Bandon due east across the coastal range to Interstate 5, that is Roseburg, where I grew up on a ranch. Bandon is just a couple of hours drive and we went there often. The forest pics of fern and moss hanging off the trees is so very familiar. And also the rain and wet, which goes right through the skin and can feel even colder than our Chicago winters. I'm excited with you that you will soon be home - and I KNOW how excited your family is to have you back :)
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jude HubbardTo Julie MartindaleThank you Mrs. Martindale. Thank you for praying continuously. So cool that you’ve been to Bandon! And you’re exactly right on that rain. I couldn’t even last an hour out there!!! So cold!!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
From my campsite
Heart 6 Comment 0
First sign I saw .3 into my ride. Bandon was where I was staying. A little intimidating but oh well. I knew I’d get there eventually
Heart 1 Comment 0
It didn’t look that tall
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Lol I didn’t even mean to take this. Saw it when I was sitting in my tent. He was going much faster than me (40-50 mph) but ig I took it at the right time. Not creepy at all
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 85 miles (137 km)
Total: 4,461 miles (7,179 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Ruby AndersonJude! I miss you so muchhhhh! Ahh can’t believe you are gonna see the Sandberg’s. Tell them hi for me. I love Shane and Shane they are so good. U should also listen to Andrew Peterson if ur interested. Love you praying for u and thinking of u a lot. I like bragging to my friends that my cousin biked to Oregon lol. Love you❤️❤️
Reply to this comment
1 month ago
Jude HubbardTo Ruby AndersonRUBYYY!!!! Sorry it took me forever to respond to your comment. You’re definitely going to need to make me an Andrew Peterson playlist to listen to. I’ll see you so soon!!!!
Reply to this comment
1 month ago