Day 60 - Farther Along - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 28, 2024

Day 60 - Farther Along

I woke up. Not great sleep. There’s something about a sleeping bag that is SO amazing. Got a lot of breakfast. I’m losing motivation. I really hate leaving places now. It’s tiring to wake up and leave. But less than 20 days where I’ll have somewhere to be. I got going. It was cold and rainy. I stopped at a rest area for awhile. I was so cold. I really didn’t want to move. But I finally left. Bundled up and felt much better. Really pushed it to get some bloodflow.  Felt much better. Rain slowed which was so nice. Warmed up a bit but still quite chilled. Saw about 20 elk chilling in a field. I didn’t want to stop so you get a blurry, over zoomed picture. The scenic route was cool. Wish I got to do Avenue of the Giants but oh well. I started to climb but didn’t even realize. I was going really slow and was so confused. Then I realized I was at 700’ and realized I was climbing. That makes more sense. Pretty cool trees. Cool forest. I went through a tree too. Didn’t pay $5. Yay. Not much happened. Pretty chill. It started to rain again. I went up a hill. It was chill. Called my family. Got really cold again. Really really cold. Hail hurts. I slogged it in. Pretty cold. Called the Dennis’s after I struggled to get my tent up. Hands hurt. All my gloves are soaked. Called my parents and the Dennis’s again. Crashed pretty hard. Just did some stuff I had to do. Called my parents. Wrote this. Going to bed. Good night. If I can get warm in the morning putting on my wet clothes then I’ll continue. But if it’s too cold/wet then I’ll take a day off. We’ll see. Hoping I continue. 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 95 miles (153 km)
Total: 4,376 miles (7,042 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Cameron WilliamsWhen you get home, check out these fellow adventuring cyclists:
Tall Bike Bobby (esp his Ted talk)
Tommy Godwin 1939 distance record
Thomas Stevens 1884 ride across america
Books:
Changing Gears - A Family Odyssey - family ride spanning the americas
Over the Hills - A Midlife Escape - maybe the Bill Bryson of cross country cycling?
Reply to this comment
1 month ago