Day 59 - Suit and Jacket - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 27, 2024

Day 59 - Suit and Jacket

Felt like such a long day. Really good day. Good sleep again. I packed up in the rain so things got wet. Got going and it was pretty. But cold. Went to the Avenue of the Giants but made it 4 miles and realized the road was closed. Debated on crossing the river. A construction worker said there was a downed tree he’d help me walk across. I’d rather not drown or get hypothermia today. So I turned around. Wasn’t even mad about. Wish I could’ve ridden on that avenue tho. Seemed cool. Had some tailwind. Had lots of rain. It was so cold. Called my parents and told them I needed a hotel. I really did. Stopped for a big lunch around 40. Made it to the bike store at 83. Luke called. Always a good time. Really chill not much climbing at all. The bike store cost a lot more than I’d hoped 😬. $450 at the last two bike shops. Oof. That’ll make a dent 😅. They were really good about it all. I got a good burger. Called my family which was so good. Barely talked to anyone in the last few days. Grace called. So good to talk to her. Packed up and talked almost to the hotel. Made the last 8 go by easy. Got to the hotel. Took awhile to depress. I feel like I’m always firing so I forget to relax when I’m under a roof. Got to talk to Mr. & Mrs. Roberts. Miss you guys. Good chatting with them. Showered then called my parents. Talked with Dad a lot about the plan to Vancouver. Really pumped about it. It’ll be shorter than I had expected! Still can’t believe I have this opportunity. I don’t wanna grow old but I guess I’ll have to college at some point 🙄. I won’t ever trade these experiences for anything. All my journals are up to date with pictures. And I know it’s late for a new title for this trip but I like this one a lot better. Makes me happy. I’m happy. Even though I shouldn’t have been with that frigid rain. I was so cold. Tailwind was friendly. I’m happy I had a good day. I’m happy dad got me a hotel. I’m happy I’m one day closer. I’m happy I’m happy. Pics are updated now 

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Only one picture from the ride. My hands did not work from mile 5-55. They HURT
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 99 miles (159 km)
Total: 4,281 miles (6,890 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0