Day 58 - Just to See You Smile - The Borders of the US - CycleBlaze

March 26, 2024

Day 58 - Just to See You Smile

Chill day. Much harder than I thought. Woke up. The CCC were quite the rowdy crowd but thankfully they didn’t really mess with me. Woke up around 5:45 and started moving around 6:15. Done by 6:45. Let’s go. I’m getting good at this. Almost like I’ve been doing it for 57 days or something 🙃. I didn’t get rolling till 7:30 cause breakfast and you know-procrastination. I got cell 3 miles in and called my family. So good to talk to people again. I stopped and talked for awhile but it was worth it. I realized from dad that today would be much harder than I realized. Had a couple big climbs. I hung up and then stopped around 10 for a snack. Took awhile so I knew the day I’d have. Not bad just slow. Legs were hurting. I stopped again around 32 for an early lunch. Much bigger than planned so assumed it could get me to my campsite. It almost did. Climbed up to 1900’ and then descended. It was rough. Especially with yesterday being as hard and me pushing as hard as I did. I made it up and bundled up. It was chilly. Quick descent. Except that road was really annoying. So bumpy. Was debating on going through a drive-thru tree but decided against it. Maybe tomorrow. Some rollers but nothing awful. Just tired. Made it to the site and the camp host made me pay :( $5. Oh well. I’ve barely paid so I guess it’s fine. Took forever setting up camp. Steaks wouldn’t work so I hunted around for rocks. Which shockingly are very rare in the forest. Charged my stuff. Bathroom is once again right next to me with an outlet. I’m spoiled!! Got some dinner and feeling much better. And a water pump is about 10 feet away. I guess $5 was worth it. Not much to do. No cell again so felt a little lonely and sad. Listened to Williams songs for the last two days and it made me miss home. But what else is new. I’m gonna see how the next few days go but I’m debating on taking the train home in Portland. I don’t think I will but just wanted to let you all know that it is a possibility. It’s getting long and lonely. But it always has. Gonna take two days off in a week or so and regroup. I’m hoping I continue but I don’t know. Anyway. I’ll keep you all updated. Still loving it. It makes it much harder when I’m already not talking to anyone in person and now I’m not talking to anyone on the phone. A voicemail was the peak of my social life once I hung up with Mom and Dad :)

Update: I just looked at my camera roll with everyone and I’m feeling much better. Felt like I was back at home. Soon. But not yet. Canada here we come :) maybe

Heart 0 Comment 0

I guess I didn’t take a picture from the ride today so enjoy this gem
Heart 1 Comment 1

Today's ride: 71 miles (114 km)
Total: 4,182 miles (6,730 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0